Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2009, 02:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
Share |
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


The prior owners of our house drilled a hole in the floor (through the carpet and into the crawlspace) to bring up cable into the office.

I'd like to remove the carpet and tile the office floor. I would need to relocate the cable outlet up to the wall, where they are normally found.

We have good access in the crawl space, but I can't figure out if its possible (or how hard it is) to bring the cable up from the crawlspace and run it through the wall.

Ideas?
Kiwi. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 02:53 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


Measure where the hole is in the floor to the wall and add 2" . Get an old work box or low voltage old work box and cut the sheet rock out to allow the installation of the box. Then go under the house and measure over to that measurement. Drill into the wall, pull the old cable out and stick it in your new hole. Hook it up to a cable jack and mount it to the box.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 02:54 PM   #3
Contractor
 
precisionbuild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


Interior or exterior wall? wirenut has it right.
precisionbuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 12:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


Its an exterior wall.

I got down into the crawl space this weekend. It looks like I have access to be able to drill a hole that should line up (vertically) with the open space in the wall. So I was planning on drilling a hole and threading the cable up, and putting a box in the wall.

Question - Any tips on threading the cable up through a wall that has insullation in it?
Kiwi. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 12:49 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiwi. View Post
Its an exterior wall.

I got down into the crawl space this weekend. It looks like I have access to be able to drill a hole that should line up (vertically) with the open space in the wall. So I was planning on drilling a hole and threading the cable up, and putting a box in the wall.

Question - Any tips on threading the cable up through a wall that has insullation in it?
You may try using a straightened out coat hanger and taping the wire to the end of that. The stiff metal of the coat hanger helps to poke right through the insulation, and since your going from the floor up to an outlet box probably not higher than 18" this should be a realtively simple task. You may find it easier to have one person pushing the cable up from the crawl space and someone at the hole ready to grab it once they can see it.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 01:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
You may try using a straightened out coat hanger and taping the wire to the end of that. The stiff metal of the coat hanger helps to poke right through the insulation, and since your going from the floor up to an outlet box probably not higher than 18" this should be a realtively simple task. You may find it easier to have one person pushing the cable up from the crawl space and someone at the hole ready to grab it once they can see it.
This is what we were planning on doing. Thanks.
Kiwi. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 01:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


Can you move it to an interior wall?
Prevents any cold air from coming in
I locate all of my runs on inside walls
Also no insulation to fight your way thru
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 02:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Can you move it to an interior wall?
Prevents any cold air from coming in
I locate all of my runs on inside walls
Also no insulation to fight your way thru
Had thought about that, but don't really have the access to an interior wall. Plus I've alread put a hole in the wall where I want the cable to go!
Kiwi. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 03:36 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,911
Default

Relocating Cable Outlet?


I would place a jack on both walls, especially if you plan on rearranging in the future. Also while you are at it, look at Cat-5 & telephone at the same jack. I have 2 runs of Cat-5 at our main entertainment center, and all other runs have one Cat-5 run. At the main entertainment center I also placed an Access Point to allow WiFi use anywhere in our home.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Will reverse polarity trip breaker?? Duane 70 Electrical 60 12-05-2008 10:18 PM
Grounding outlet to armored cable - fine? voltage2 Electrical 14 02-18-2008 11:03 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.