Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 03:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


I'm an electrician of sorts (Went through some schooling on radio maintenance and electronic theory), however I'm having issues coming up with a good plan for a relay-driven lightswitch.

It may be a common item, however I haven't found anything that fits my needs.

I'm planning on installing a relay-driven light switch system in my house, controlled by a central control panel. I figure installing a relay at the light switch that would have a control wire going back to the panel or hub.

I know most of the jargon, so you don't have to dumb it down for me. Thank you all for your attention and help!

-Christopher

Christopher_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


Try www.grainger.com or www.mcmaster.com.

Can I ask, "why?"

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:28 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


Thanks for the links!

It's for a project I'm working on - a voice-activated light switch system. I've seen a few companies already doing it, and I thought that there would have to be a better, cheaper way of accomplishing the same type of system.
Christopher_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 11:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


Sounds like fun.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:12 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


what kind of control power are you considering?

can you draw and post a rough sketch of the system? It would make it easier to understand what your plan is.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:30 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


Unfortunately, I'm on a certain network that will block any kind of image hosting websites, and with no access to real internet. Afghanistan networks can be a bother sometimes when 'visiting.'

Anyway, I will try to describe the schematic in as much detail as possible;

To make it simplistic, I'll use a single room as a whole circuit. A microphone place strategically in the room will record the commands. Once received the correct string of keywords, it will activate - say turning the lights off in that room. All microphones will lead to the graphical user interface panel located on a wall. The panel will have a program that will stop sending a voltage to the relay thus turning off the lights. It will probably require an electrical hub of some sort inbetween the panel and switch relay - but you get the jist. If you have any ideas on specific mechanisms or parts, please to bring to light!

Thank you all again for your attention and help.

-Christopher
Christopher_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 02:49 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


so, what kind of power is the GUI device going to be able to supply as a control voltage and current? That is going to determine if a mechanical or electronic relay could be used or had to be used. If there is enough power (both voltage and current available) a mechanical relay would likely be the cheapest method. You would run your control wires to the relay and your power for the light through the controlled contact and viola' you have Bill Gates lights.


If the GUI controller can only supply a very low voltage and or current, you will likely have to look into an electronic controller/relay. The system is the same but it is made to utilize the lower power in the control circuit to operate it. Most likely more expensive but I haven't really looked since this is in such the prelim stages, too many variables to even start.

so, once you figure out some power availability, a relay/controller can be spec'd and sourced.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:28 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Relay Based Lightswitch - How to?


That.... is a very good question. I was looking into 'GumStix' as the platform to use, as it's so modular and relatively cheap. But I haven't had luck figuring out how to make this all work together. I figure either a box between the board and relay, or use a specialized board piece - however I can't find anything that would fit the description.

The power to be used I would assume could be the house power, or the power from the GumStix panel. The internet capabilities I have are extremely limited, so I apologize for the uneducated answer / questions.

Christopher_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Baseboard Heat - relay problem? sporkman HVAC 7 11-21-2010 06:43 PM
Wiring a Honeywell RA89A Relay shawnmd HVAC 7 10-21-2010 06:58 PM
Oil based paint over Latex? No need for Primer? Jasonuncloned Painting 2 10-20-2010 10:33 PM
oil vs water poly batwoman Flooring 6 09-30-2008 10:00 PM
Flashing NoExperience Painting 13 09-04-2008 05:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.