Is Regular Wire Ok To Use If Fishing Through Existing Walls? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2008, 10:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


I want to add another light in my kitchen. Is it ok to use the usual 12/2 or 14/2 wire to fish through existing walls or do I need to use wire that is encased in metal to protect it?(since it will be loose in wall cavity) Also, I hope to add the light to an existing circuit. As long as a map the circuit and calculate its current load and the additional light fixture wont increase the load too much, I should be ok? Is this the usual approach?

Advertisement

slatergrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:12 PM   #2
Ottawa, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


Regular 14/2 is fine. The shielded cable is for exposed locations - which means out in the open where you can see it. You have to protect it when passing in front of a stud (with a metal plate) so the next tenant doesn't put a nail through it. This is all for Ontario code but I think this is fairly standard across Canada and US

Advertisement

Snailspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:22 PM   #3
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


Get yourself some fish tape and some decent drill bits. I have been trying to run wires from the 1st floor to the basement for three days. Long story. Prepare for the unexpected and as much as possible KISS.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:32 PM   #4
Ottawa, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


Oh - and the load question - a light doesn't add much. Don't add it to one of the split circuits (anything you plug a toaster / kettle into) it's not code and your light will dim every time you brew. If you're adding a second light to an existing one, then take off that. If it's a new light on it's own new switch, take it off an existing light at the switch or the light (whichever has the line to the breaker) or off a regular circuit nearby - a wall receptacle in an adjacent room maybe.
Snailspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


Unless you are in Chicago you can use "regular" wire (NM )(Romex).

Use the same size as the circuit you are tapping into. An additional light or two won't over load the circuit. Some places use 12, some 14.

Make your connections TIGHT.

Loose connections cause arcing/sparking/heat/smoke/fire/death. Use junctions boxes.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 06:03 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


WOW, all these responses were so helpful and cleared up alot of the "gaps" of info that weren't clear in my little do it yourselfer wiring book. Thanks alot. One last ?, what are junction boxes?
slatergrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 08:13 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


You can use the term junction box if there is no switch or receptacle there, just wires that come together to be connected. The same kind of box can be used, just be careful of the number of conductors (wire ends) coming in and the size of the box.

Junction boxes with exposed covers are required for in-wall (concealed) wiring; you may not have connections or joints or splices loose inside the wall.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 08:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


Thanks for the help
slatergrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 09:51 PM   #9
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Unless you are in Chicago you can use "regular" wire (NM )(Romex).



Make your connections TIGHT.

220 You rock.....
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 09:53 PM   #10
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


Dont say "grl" unless you want to get hit on on this site...



Andy


We don't help girls on this site................
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Is regular wire ok to use if fishing through existing walls?


ANDY! Then explain to me why "hooter's" thread has 200+ replies & 1400+ views?

Advertisement

stan 41943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a step by step for framing basement walls/2x4's wrong direction/stairs??? xray328 Remodeling 27 06-19-2011 09:50 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM
Bonding (bond wire) & Spa Installation on existing concrete pad crusius2 Electrical 1 11-14-2007 01:00 PM
Raising existing walls of a garage ok2rvtravel Remodeling 3 10-09-2007 12:45 PM
Blending into existing walls J187 Painting 5 07-06-2006 11:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts