Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2012, 09:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5
Share |
Post

regarding step up transformer


Greetings all,
ima newb that was thinking one night, what if i bought a 15000 watt stepup transformer and installed it by a new electrical mains box, that way i wouldnt have any back feed to the grid, and then hooked all my heavy equip to it to save money on utility bill, what do you guys think? http://www.110to240.com/details.asp?ProdID=1006
thanx

DShdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 09:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

regarding step up transformer


when you mentioned backfeeding I assume you are thinking of powering this with a generator. I think you may need to do some research on Ohms Law to understand what you are tring to do and why it wont do what you think it will.


Last edited by danpik; 09-22-2012 at 09:20 AM.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 09:31 AM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,565
Default

regarding step up transformer


What are you powering this with? Gen-set, solar, wind, hydro, couple of hamsters on a wheel?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
DShdw (09-22-2012)
Old 09-22-2012, 12:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,388
Default

regarding step up transformer


You are talking about a step up transformer, yet you posted a link to a step-down transformer.
You might also want to learn the difference between single phase and split phase power.

It's not going to do what you think it will.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:31 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,521
Default

regarding step up transformer


Whatever you're trying to accomplish, that won't do it. We need a lot more information to be able to help, though. Also, that transformer is definitely not really good for 15kW. It's nowhere near big enough to be a 15KVA transformer. Probably more like 5 at the most.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5
Default

regarding step up transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik View Post
when you mentioned backfeeding I assume you are thinking of powering this with a generator. I think you may need to do some research on Ohms Law to understand what you are tring to do and why it wont do what you think it will.
no had i not stated about not backfeeding to grid, i would have a bunch of ppl msg me that it can kill workers is why i added that statement, i'm just gonna hook up energy eating stuff like ac. so do you have any clues if this is worth doing? or u just gonna continue as u have, with no helpful info ty
DShdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5
Default

regarding step up transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
You are talking about a step up transformer, yet you posted a link to a step-down transformer.
You might also want to learn the difference between single phase and split phase power.

It's not going to do what you think it will.
actually that page had em listed as stepup and stepdown so oh well
DShdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:36 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5
Default

regarding step up transformer


ok so no helpful info thanx anyway

Last edited by DShdw; 09-22-2012 at 08:40 PM.
DShdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:47 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

regarding step up transformer


Everything is relative. So you have a light that runs on 240v and 120v. For arguements sake we'll say Its a 100w bulb. That bulb draws 1.2a at 120v and .6a at 240v useing simple ohms law. Using the same ohms law, as we already know, it draws 100w. Therefore costs the same amount of money to run on either voltage. Actually it costs more due to the ir squared losses in the transformer. The only upside is smaller wre sizes and that only works if the equipment is rated for said voltage. If not then your equipment goes boom.

There's your answer. The previous its pointless answers are spot on.

I don't however have a clue what you talking about when you say your backfeeding your grid, please enlighten me.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-22-2012)
Old 09-22-2012, 09:10 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,212
Default

regarding step up transformer


See what I DM?
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:15 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,310
Default

regarding step up transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by DShdw View Post
Greetings all,
ima newb that was thinking one night, what if i bought a 15000 watt stepup transformer and installed it by a new electrical mains box, that way i wouldnt have any back feed to the grid, and then hooked all my heavy equip to it to save money on utility bill, what do you guys think? http://www.110to240.com/details.asp?ProdID=1006
thanx
Sorry to bust your bubble sir !
BUT transformers do work forwards or backwards.
So yes it can still backfeed.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:39 AM   #12
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,388
Default

regarding step up transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by DShdw View Post
actually that page had em listed as stepup and stepdown so oh well
Funny, when I follow your link, the only transformer shown is

"15000 WATT TC-15000A TRANSFORMER STEP DOWN CE APPROVED AND CERTIFIED. " "Converts 220/240 Volts down to 110/120 Volts"

near the top of the page the location on the site is shown as
" SamStores: > Voltage Transformers > Step Down-Only for Overseas use-Type 1 "

Yes, elsewhere on the site they sell others, but that is not where your original link took me.

Last edited by Oso954; 09-23-2012 at 12:43 AM.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 04:51 AM   #13
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

regarding step up transformer


Guys...ignore him....he is looking for perpetual motion schemes.....has no idea what he is doing.....or is a troll...

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Voltage Transformer Problem dlp710 Electrical 2 07-06-2012 09:56 AM
How do Transformers Connect / Cause of outages (transformer fire) jamiedolan Electrical 23 11-30-2011 05:22 AM
Help with a Step Up Transformer TheConsumer Electrical 10 11-11-2011 12:44 AM
Hang drywall vertical or horizontal nickm1024cobra Drywall & Plaster 54 03-30-2011 11:37 AM
Unfinished step around wood laminate floors markq Flooring 7 07-17-2009 07:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.