Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2013, 03:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Is it bad to have the refer plug protected by a kitchen GFCI circuit?

widely is offline  
Old 10-28-2013, 03:32 PM   #2
K&B Designer
 
Live_Oak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis,. TN
Posts: 350
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Yes. It should be on a dedicated circuit if possible.

__________________
Do it right from the beginning if you only want to do the job once. It'll be cheaper in the long term.
Live_Oak is offline  
Old 10-28-2013, 03:34 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


It's not necessarily bad, but it's not optimal either.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-29-2013), mpoulton (10-29-2013), plummen (10-28-2013), stickboy1375 (10-29-2013)
Old 10-28-2013, 09:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Yes because refers have high inductance motors and will sometimes trip a gfi on start up and what if you're away on vacation. Guess what you'll come home to? A refer should be on its own circuit anyway and not with the kit sabc, if possible
romex1220 is offline  
Old 10-28-2013, 10:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,074
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


You don't want to be refrigerator on a GFCI circuit for the reasons mentioned earlier. It's not required by code as long as no other countertop receptacles are on the same circuit.
Msradell is offline  
Old 10-29-2013, 12:52 AM   #6
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by widely View Post
Is it bad to have the refer plug protected by a kitchen GFCI circuit?
Generally speaking, yes.
For the exact reason romex stated.
sublime2 is offline  
Old 10-29-2013, 05:56 AM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by romex1220 View Post
Yes because refers have high inductance motors and will sometimes trip a gfi on start up and what if you're away on vacation. Guess what you'll come home to? A refer should be on its own circuit anyway and not with the kit sabc, if possible
I call bull**** and has nothing to do with the proper operation of a GFCI…. If you have a refrigerator or freezer located in a GFCI designated area you have no choice but to deal with it….
stickboy1375 is offline  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
danpik (10-29-2013), jbfan (10-29-2013), Jim Port (10-29-2013), mpoulton (10-29-2013), plummen (10-29-2013), Speedy Petey (10-29-2013)
Old 10-29-2013, 06:23 AM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,836
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I call bull**** and has nothing to do with the proper operation of a GFCI. If you have a refrigerator or freezer located in a GFCI designated area you have no choice but to deal with it.
I'm going to disagree.....

I know the code is changing in the case of garages where 'everything' has to be GFCI...including fridges and freezers...but as of right now, I believe a fridge/freezer is exempt....at least in the 2008 cycle.

Kitchen? Unless it's changed...a dedicated ckt for a fridge does not have to be gfci.

So....my fridge is on a dedicated non-GFCI ckt....and will stay that way.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
Live_Oak (10-29-2013)
Old 10-29-2013, 06:30 AM   #9
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,348
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Code or not. I will NEVER trust my food storage to a GFCI.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PoleCat For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (11-01-2013), gregzoll (10-29-2013)
Old 10-29-2013, 01:41 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


A properly functioning refrigerator should have no issues on a GFI protected circuit. In a commercial setting the refrigerator is required to be GFI protected.

I don't know why some are so concerned with food over a persons life. The food can be replaced.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
danpik (10-31-2013), jbfan (10-29-2013), Speedy Petey (10-29-2013), stickboy1375 (10-29-2013)
Old 10-31-2013, 04:22 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
I spent about three years on large commercial jobsites, and I recall three instances where people were shocked and the lack of GFCI was a factor - and that's on jobsites where GFCI's are mandatory and that requirement was seriously enforced (by me, since that was my job). So those three shocks occurred within the very small subgroup of workers who violated the GFCI rule and hadn't been caught yet. I recall several specific instances of GFCI's tripping and doing their job, where the lack of the GFCI would probably have resulted in a serious shock.
You need to get better/smarter help it sounds like to me anyway.
Ive ran plenty of multi million dollar comercial and industrial jobs in my younger days without having problems with guys getting bit by cords and tools.
What were these guys doing when they got shocked,was it caused by junk cords or junk tools?
Now Ive been blasted a time or 3 in the past by idiots who think its ok to stuff 10 lbs of stuff in a 2lb junction box ,but that has nothing to do with gfi protection though.
The guys who dont have the common sense to pour piss out of a boot and rely on everybody else to tie their shoes and protect them from themselves are the same idiots that will be looking up instead of down and walk right through caution tape into a 10' deep ditch,and yes Ive seen idiots on job sites do just that.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline  
Old 10-31-2013, 04:29 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,539
Default

Refridgerater on GFCI circuit?


Question asked, question answered.

Thread closed.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
plummen (10-31-2013)
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
Stairway light powered from GFCI circuit? jeh179 Electrical 10 03-23-2011 08:57 AM
GFCI Outlet on 20A garage circuit campos202 Electrical 2 09-10-2009 09:38 AM
GFCI Trips campbellpt Electrical 28 11-21-2008 03:06 PM
GFCI circuit Cossack Electrical 31 03-21-2008 12:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.