Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 07:58 PM   #1
Member
 
ericmunyon12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
Share |
Default

Redo???


Ok, a friend retired my garage. The plugs (2) are gcfi protected. The lights (including exterior food light) and plug in the rafters (for the door opener which is new) are NOT gfci protected. He didn't want the opener to trip the gfci, which it shouldn't, or the lights to kill. All the wiring is good, but I know technically the whole garage should be gfci protected. It wouldn't take too much to change a few connections and have it all protected through the load on the gfci plug. Should I do it, or don't bother for just lights and door opener?

ericmunyon12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:08 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,086
Default

Redo???


Quote:
Originally Posted by ericmunyon12345 View Post
Ok, a friend retired my garage. The plugs (2) are gcfi protected. The lights (including exterior food light) and plug in the rafters (for the door opener which is new) are NOT gfci protected. He didn't want the opener to trip the gfci, which it shouldn't, or the lights to kill. All the wiring is good, but I know technically the whole garage should be gfci protected. It wouldn't take too much to change a few connections and have it all protected through the load on the gfci plug. Should I do it, or don't bother for just lights and door opener?
Depending on what code cycle you are on, technically, the entire garage does NOT need to be GFCI protected.

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:10 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

Redo???


Quote:
Originally Posted by ericmunyon12345 View Post
Ok, a friend retired my garage. The plugs (2) are gcfi protected. The lights (including exterior food light) and plug in the rafters (for the door opener which is new) are NOT gfci protected. He didn't want the opener to trip the gfci, which it shouldn't, or the lights to kill. All the wiring is good, but I know technically the whole garage should be gfci protected. It wouldn't take too much to change a few connections and have it all protected through the load on the gfci plug. Should I do it, or don't bother for just lights and door opener?
Lighting does not need GFCI protection. simply install another GFCI for thr door operator.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,331
Default

Redo???


Your post makes almost no since, but the only thing that needs to be GFI protected is the outside and inside lower outlets.
The ones for the garage door opener do not need to be GFI protected.
Not going to do any harm if they are though.
A circut breaker protects from an over loaded circut, a GFI protects againt an unbalanced circut. It's not going to trip just because a garage door kicks in.
http://home.howstuffworks.com/question117.htm
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:31 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,086
Default

Redo???


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Your post makes almost no since, but the only thing that needs to be GFI protected is the outside and inside lower outlets.
The ones for the garage door opener do not need to be GFI protected.
This entirely depends on what code cycle the OP is on....
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
brric (03-04-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 08:45 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Redo???


The exception for single receptacles and ceiling mounted one not to have GFI protection has been removed in the 08 an 11 NEC. The protection needs to be readily accessible.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:46 PM   #7
Member
 
ericmunyon12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
Default

Redo???


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

This entirely depends on what code cycle the OP is on....
No idea, and couldn't just find in a search. I'm in SW Michigan. Berrien Co.
ericmunyon12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:49 PM   #8
Member
 
ericmunyon12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
Default

Redo???


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port
The exception for single receptacles and ceiling mounted one not to have GFI protection has been removed in the 08 an 11 NEC. The protection needs to be readily accessible.
Sorry, to be clear, are you saying the rafter outlet IS now required to be gfci? Thanks.
ericmunyon12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:52 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Redo???


According to the map I have Michigan is on the 2008 code cycle and ALL garage receptacles would need GFI protection.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
ericmunyon12345 (03-03-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 08:53 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,086
Default

Redo???


Quote:
Originally Posted by ericmunyon12345 View Post
Sorry, to be clear, are you saying the rafter outlet IS now required to be gfci? Thanks.
It is, but as said earlier you may not have this requirement depending on what code cycle your state has adopted, but for simplicity sakes, since you are concerned to begin with, just install a GFCI breaker and feel safe again.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
ericmunyon12345 (03-03-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 08:58 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Redo???


Quote:
Originally Posted by ericmunyon12345 View Post
Sorry, to be clear, are you saying the rafter outlet IS now required to be gfci? Thanks.
Yes, the 08 states that all 15 and 20 amp 120 volt receptacles have GFI protection.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
ericmunyon12345 (03-03-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need to redo some type B venting that has screws amakarevic HVAC 3 07-15-2011 09:30 PM
custom cabinet countertop dilemma: notch it or redo? mystic_cobra Carpentry 14 05-12-2011 10:35 PM
Looking to redo plain oak cabinets from 1991. Help?? Rhizzlebop Carpentry 27 09-16-2009 11:14 AM
Bathroom ReDo From GA. gilj Remodeling 4 06-02-2009 09:12 PM
Bathroom Redo 2008! manofthehill Remodeling 3 08-12-2007 12:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.