Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2005, 06:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

recessed lighting automation


hello, first time member.
Im planning on remodeling my home in a few months and i had few ideas that would look fantastic but im having alittle trouble about how to go about it. First off im installing recessed low voltage lighting in the living room. Im planning on installing them in a circular pattern between 8-12 lights. i want to make my lights automated, but i want to do it in a particular way. i wanted to have my lights turn on in a special sequence. Lets say i installed the lights in a circular pattern, i wanted each light to turn on with a 1 second delay so the lights will turn on in a circular pattern. I also will be using a touch screen interface to control just about everything, thermostat/lighiting/entertainment. But how would i go about sequencing the lighting? any suggestions would be great.

cesar333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 06:38 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

recessed lighting automation


Quote:
Originally Posted by cesar333
But how would i go about sequencing the lighting? any suggestions would be great.
As a professional electrician, I install quite a bit of home auotmation/smart house equipment. I've never done what you propose. That said, it's straightforward enough. If you're serious about the inquiry, I can knock out a schematic and a parts list for the equipment to do this. Would you like that? Do you have space (basement/mechanical room) to mount a small control panel to contain the timer sequencers and relays?

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 06:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

recessed lighting automation


yes i have a fairly large closet where i plan on putting my control panel and ethernet hub. i also have a large attic so access to the lights is not a major concern. i assumed it would some sort of relay system but if all has to be automated throught my interface, if you can draw up a rough diaogram that would be great. thanks
cesar333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 08:54 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodbridge,Va
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

recessed lighting automation


I would look into the X-10 systems.Like mdshunk suggested,check out Smart Home.
donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding recessed lighting where old fixture was ConstantChange Electrical 4 01-15-2009 04:42 PM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 01:35 PM
recessed lighting in basement DIY4EVER Electrical 6 06-29-2007 02:52 PM
Recessed lighting in drop ceiling DIY4EVER Electrical 9 06-04-2007 04:46 AM
lighting automation christy123 Electrical 10 03-07-2007 04:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.