Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 03:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Recessed lighting


Can you install 6 recessed light off of one circuit by starting at a switch that is designed to turn an outlet on and off for a lamp that sits on a table. i've determined all of the outlets in one room are on the same circuit. The max wattage that will be used in that room if all recessed lights and TV etc are on would be approx. 1,500. the electrical wire in place is 14 g.

maretapeacock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 04:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Recessed lighting


1500 watts divided by 120 volts equals 12.5 amps.

So assuming that 14 ga wire is on 15 amp breaker your good to go

jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,687
Default

Recessed lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by maretapeacock View Post
Can you install 6 recessed light off of one circuit by starting at a switch that is designed to turn an outlet on and off for a lamp that sits on a table.
Depends on how it is wired.
Many times a switch loop is used, so the only way to do it would be to change it so the receptacle is always one to give you a feed at the switch.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:26 AM   #4
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Default

Recessed lighting


Are all modern wall switches 15 amp minimum?

I know some dimmers are limited to 600W, but higher wattage dimmers are available.
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:22 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,687
Default

Recessed lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by M3 Pete View Post
Are all modern wall switches 15 amp minimum?
Yes...
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
M3 Pete (04-23-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen fluorescent to LED recessed lighting changeout speedytahiti Electrical 1 01-05-2012 07:04 PM
high pitched noise recessed lighting pbrzez Electrical 2 03-30-2011 11:23 AM
New recessed lighting: Line Voltage vs. low voltage hyunelan2 Electrical 0 10-12-2009 12:25 PM
Recessed Lighting - Quality Question. 811Gibbon Electrical 8 01-24-2009 09:47 PM
Recessed Lighting under hot/cold supplies?? KC10KEVIN Electrical 1 05-08-2008 10:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.