Recessed Light Wire Size - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 09:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Recessed light wire size


Hi all -

I am installing recessed can lights. The box nor material states what size wire each light has.... basically I want to run 2 lights off of each junction box in parallel. So the junction box feeds power to the first can light, and that light feeds to the next light. Is there a common wire size provided on these lights? The brand is "Quantus".


Thanks!

Advertisement

jizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 09:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Recessed light wire size


The lighting ciruit will determine what size wire you will use. If the circuit is protected by a 15A breaker you can use 12 or 14 gauge wire. If is protected by a 20A breaker you must use 12 guage wire. Where are you located?

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 08:17 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Recessed light wire size


I am referring to the lights - they have a pigtail that you wire to. If a second like is connecting to the first light, at the pigtail, I want to make sure I don't exceed the amperage of the pigtail. The lights themselves don't state what size wire the pigtail is.

I am running 12/2, but the pigtail may be ...?
jizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 08:31 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Recessed light wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by jizzle View Post
I am referring to the lights - they have a pigtail that you wire to. If a second like is connecting to the first light, at the pigtail, I want to make sure I don't exceed the amperage of the pigtail. The lights themselves don't state what size wire the pigtail is.

I am running 12/2, but the pigtail may be ...?
The pigtail size really doesn't matter since only the current from that fixture will be running through it.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 08:49 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Recessed light wire size


So even though 12/2, light pigtail #1 and light pigtail #2 are all in the same wire nuts, pigtail size doesn't matter? Sorry, just making sure. I've always wired each light to a junction box and am trying to save boxes and wire by doing it this way.
jizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 08:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Recessed light wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by jizzle View Post
So even though 12/2, light pigtail #1 and light pigtail #2 are all in the same wire nuts, pigtail size doesn't matter? Sorry, just making sure. I've always wired each light to a junction box and am trying to save boxes and wire by doing it this way.
When you are referring to the "pigtail", do you mean the wire that is already in the light junction box?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 10:56 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Recessed light wire size


The pigtail/whip wires that come in each fixture are sized for that fixture, and downstream fixtures are not a consideration because the pigtail isn't physically carrying any more current than it's own fixture takes. As long as your branch circuit wiring between the lights is sized correctly for the breaker, you're good.

Advertisement

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wire feed size for dble oven setup ? ? ? yes.itsconcrete Electrical 29 09-12-2008 10:11 PM
Wire hot with light switch turned off dangerouswithtools Electrical 3 06-17-2008 08:56 AM
Circuit breakers and wire size stan 41943 Electrical 19 03-06-2008 03:29 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 10:29 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts