Recessed Light; Max Wires In Junction Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2008, 01:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Hi, I am installing a run of nine Halo recessed lights (new construction) that will be operated by a set of 3-way switches. All on/off together all the time. Each box is basically in a linear daisy chain start to finish, very simple run. Because of location of the stair switch, I'd like the power to come in from a middle of the run light (not an end point). The junction box cover states maximum 8 12 AWG, and I'd like to ask if my situation will violate that. Each J-box has three, four port push in connectors (hot, neutral, and ground) and my circuit is all 20 Amp, 12-2. So in the box, I will have the power coming in, and power going out to two branhces, as well as to the light itself. All four ports on each of the three connectors will be full. I am a bit confused at the counting rules, so I thought I'd just ask. Thanks!

Joe

Advertisement

Yasla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:25 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


You are fine. What you propose is only for this one light and is only seven conductors. ALL the grounds only count as one.

I must ask, WHY #12???

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,977
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Each hot or neutral conductor counts one point. All the grounds together count one point. All the cable clamps, if any are inside the box, count as one point. For 12 gauge wires allow 2-1/4 cubic inches of box volume per point; 14 or smaller gauge conductors going to the light socket may be counted as 2 cubic inches even.

You have two conductors coming in for power, two conductors daisy chaining off away from the switch subsystem to other lights, three conductors (a 12-3) daisy chaining towards the switch subsystem and other lights, plus the grounds.

Assuming that the count of 8 does not include the two leads (tap conductors) going to "this" light, I would say you are OK.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:28 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Allan, with boxes and lights like this the clamps are not counted. They are included in the manufacturer's calculations.
Also, I do not see where he says the 3-way will be part of this wiring scheme. He just wants to bring the switch leg into a middle light and "T" off from there.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Speedy-Its a new house, and it is all 12 gauge, all 20 amp circuits so I wanted to stay consistent. AllenJ, no 12-3 at all going to this switch, I have only the two switches connected with three way, all the lights including this first mid-run have 12-2 wire going in. Thanks for the responses.
Yasla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Wires that neither leave nor enter the junction box (ex. the push in connector lead) are not part of the count.
newgarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:50 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yasla View Post
Speedy-Its a new house, and it is all 12 gauge, all 20 amp circuits

Thats just crazy! No wonder you bought Halo's... no money left in the budget.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 02:03 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Come on Chris. I like Halo.

Good enough reason for me Yasla.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 02:24 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Come on Chris. I like Halo.

Good enough reason for me Yasla.

I find the trims turn yellow after a year or so. Oh, and it was a sad attempt at humor also.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 02:39 PM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


but... it's ok to USE 12 if you get it for $15 for new 100 ft. rolls at an auction, yes?
i mean, it won't HURT anything, right?
DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 03:59 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


When you use #12 for lighting circuits the electrons flow too quickly resulting in brighter light. Install a dimmer and you'll be fine.

Speaking of dimmers, 9 cans @ 75 watts each is 675 watts. Keep in mind that you need a 3way, 1000W dimmer and that it will get hot.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 12:41 PM   #12
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
When you use #12 for lighting circuits the electrons flow too quickly resulting in brighter light.
What different would 12awg vs 14 awg make, other than slightly less voltage drop on the 12. Unless it was loaded pretty heavily how would you even notice a difference in the brightness of the light?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 02:22 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Feelin' a 'lil slow today Jamie?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 02:34 PM   #14
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Feelin' a 'lil slow today Jamie?
Yes, feeling very slow today. It's already 1:30 here time for me to take a cold shower and wake up!
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 02:59 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Recessed light; max wires in junction box


I mean slow as in 221's sarcasm getting by you.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recessed light wire size jizzle Electrical 6 12-03-2008 10:56 AM
Recessed Light on Curved Ceiling? mfleming Electrical 2 10-31-2008 07:53 PM
Adding one recessed light to exsisting switch... JayBird Electrical 1 04-03-2008 08:32 PM
Recessed light plan foiled? kcrossley2 Electrical 8 03-15-2007 12:08 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts