Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2013, 11:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Share |
Default

recessed light box - no ground


i'm converting my recessed light to install track light.
i dont see any ground wire in my recessed light box though only hot and neutral.

where do i connect the ground wire of my track light?

my house is a new house.



dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:03 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,675
Default

recessed light box - no ground


The ground wire will be inside the j box on the side of the recessed can.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 01:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Default

recessed light box - no ground


so i need to remove the recessed can and look for the junction box and wire the track light ground wire?

can i connect the track light ground wire to anywhere in the recessed can?

or can i just not connect the ground wire of track light?
dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 01:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,294
Default

recessed light box - no ground


pull the three screws on the recessed can dome, that will let you drop the dome out, and behind it is a junction box
__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 01:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,294
Default

recessed light box - no ground


I'd also check the gauge of the wire in the can light if you plan on using that as a connection point, the devices are usually designed to handle 75-100 watts at most, they might not even have 14 gauge wires to the sockets... not sure if they ever used smaller gauge wire for that or not
__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 02:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Default

recessed light box - no ground


Can I not wire the ground wire?
dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,294
Default

recessed light box - no ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbengineer View Post
Can I not wire the ground wire?
I wouldn't wire a ground to the housing, I'd go straight back to the junction box that is inside the housing... in theory you could tap a screw into the housing since it is grounded... but that is kind of the half assed way of doing this...
__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,739
Default

recessed light box - no ground


Is there an attic above so you can get to the juntion box?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:37 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,395
Default

recessed light box - no ground


You could remove the recessed housing and wire into the track end feed. All the connections will be in one spot.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:56 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Default

recessed light box - no ground


so the half-ass way is to tape using electrical tape the ground wire to the recessed can housing. this is ok right.

i'm having a difficult time removing the recessed can/dome. even if i could, it will be difficult to open the junction box and wire correctly as the ceiling hole is too tight and it would be too dark to see the wiring.
dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:06 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Default

recessed light box - no ground


also what is this connection? this is located on the side of recessed can. does this do anyting special? or this is also the same as wire connector.

dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,404
Default

recessed light box - no ground


No, you can not electrical tape your ground wire to the can.
The "connector" you are wondering about is a thermocouple. It is designed to shut the can light off if it overheats.

Rip the can out. Install a ceiling box. Repair sheet rock, if necessary. Wire your trak light properly.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:20 PM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,933
Default

recessed light box - no ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbengineer View Post
also what is this connection? this is located on the side of recessed can. does this do anyting special? or this is also the same as wire connector.

That is the thermal overload for the recessed fixture. looks like you have already cut it out.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:29 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,395
Default

recessed light box - no ground


The junction box cover will remove by lifting a spring tab.

You can place a flashlight in the hole to see.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 05:37 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Default

recessed light box - no ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The junction box cover will remove by lifting a spring tab.

You can place a flashlight in the hole to see.
but the recessed can is grounded, right? and i can tape the grounding wire of tracklight to the recessed can, right?

i'm not saying that's the proper way but it can be done like that, right?

dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three romex into recessed light box - light won't turn off coopns Electrical 12 05-04-2012 07:27 PM
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 01:37 PM
Recessed Shower Light Ptron Electrical 3 10-05-2010 05:41 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Recessed Light on Curved Ceiling? mfleming Electrical 2 10-31-2008 06:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.