Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2009, 02:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Recepticle doesn't have enough power?


Hey guys..

I have 1 electrical recepticle in a bedroom which isn't supplying "enough" juice. Meaning, the light tester comes up VERY dim once I test it, though the rest of the house comes through with a very BRIGHT light on the test. Also, anything I plug into this outlet doesn't power up.

After shutting off the breaker, I checked out the recepticle and it has 1 white wire, and 1 black wire connected to it, I even changed the recepticle unit with a working one, and the same dillema occurs. Any ideas?
slaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 04:02 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Recepticle doesn't have enough power?


You need to check the outlet that feeds that one.
It may have a loose connection.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 04:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Recepticle doesn't have enough power?


Depending on your type of tester (neon?), it may not be connected at all.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Recepticle doesn't have enough power?


Thanks dude, that was it. there was a loose connection at the recepticle leading to that one.
slaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 09:36 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Recepticle doesn't have enough power?


Quote:
Originally Posted by slaya View Post
Thanks dude, that was it. there was a loose connection at the recepticle leading to that one.
No Problem! Thats why we come here!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get power to a new ceiling fan? sestivers Electrical 12 04-25-2011 02:11 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.