Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 07:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Receptical Short


Went to a friend's house, called and said the breaker to an outside receptical trips after about 10 minutes with nothing plugged into it. Her brother-in-law replaced the receptical and box and relocated it about 2 feet so it would be under the overhang a few weeks before. I took the cover off and checked wiring and seen no problems, it was wired correctly. I put the cover back on, turned the breaker on and plugged a neon lamp into it. About 10 minutes later it tripped but this time I heard a POOF noise. I checked inside the box again, it was stlll okay and did not see or smell any electrical burn. Then it was discovered that about 6 recepticals inside the house were not working. They were in 3 different rooms at the opposite end of the house on different breakers from the one that was tripping. Their breakers were not tripped.

mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Default

Receptical Short


Is the breaker by chance a gfi breaker?

romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Receptical Short


No, just a regular brown receptical.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Default

Receptical Short


Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang08 View Post
No, just a regular brown receptical.
I meant the breaker
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Receptical Short


No, it is a regular breaker.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Default

Receptical Short


What else is on that breaker that does the outside plug
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Receptical Short


Two GFCI recepticals around the deck with nothing plugged into them.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:14 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Receptical Short


Did you check the old receptacle location? Is there a junction box to extend the cable to the new location? Are the connections good in the junction box?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:59 PM   #9
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

Receptical Short


Try turning the breaker back on and see if those "other" receptacles work when the breaker is on. the fact that they don't work may or may not be related to the original issue. Also, does the breaker trip if noting is plugged into the receptacle?
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:20 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,304
Default

Receptical Short


Could be one of the hots coming into your panel might have a intermittant
drop out,
Loose connection or faulty switch/breaker.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
mustang08 (09-05-2013)
Old 09-05-2013, 06:46 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Receptical Short


There is no jusction box for the new location, the existing wire was long enough. I checked connections in the receptical box and they are good.

Yes, I turned the breaker back on and the "other" recepticals were still dead.

I checked all connections in the panel and switches and they were good.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:52 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Receptical Short


Yes, it trips with nothing plugged in.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:07 AM   #13
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Receptical Short


Did the breaker trip before the receptacle was moved?
Does the breaker in question turn anything else off?
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:14 AM   #14
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Receptical Short


Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang08
There is no jusction box for the new location, the existing wire was long enough. I checked connections in the receptical box and they are good.

.
I find this surprising. What is now where the old receptacle was?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:15 AM   #15
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,326
Default

Receptical Short


Shared neutral wire?

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace short cycling repman55 HVAC 12 01-21-2011 04:41 AM
Bryant Furnace short cycling...help! Spark Chaser HVAC 11 01-21-2011 04:01 AM
Short Wires in an Overfill HooKooDooKu Electrical 34 01-31-2010 12:18 AM
Short Circuit but Breaker does not trip vino82 Electrical 6 01-29-2010 12:54 PM
I caused a short in one room - now what? taychas Electrical 6 11-08-2006 04:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.