Receptical Short - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 08:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Receptical Short


Went to a friend's house, called and said the breaker to an outside receptical trips after about 10 minutes with nothing plugged into it. Her brother-in-law replaced the receptical and box and relocated it about 2 feet so it would be under the overhang a few weeks before. I took the cover off and checked wiring and seen no problems, it was wired correctly. I put the cover back on, turned the breaker on and plugged a neon lamp into it. About 10 minutes later it tripped but this time I heard a POOF noise. I checked inside the box again, it was stlll okay and did not see or smell any electrical burn. Then it was discovered that about 6 recepticals inside the house were not working. They were in 3 different rooms at the opposite end of the house on different breakers from the one that was tripping. Their breakers were not tripped.

Advertisement

mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Receptical Short


Is the breaker by chance a gfi breaker?

Advertisement

romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Receptical Short


No, just a regular brown receptical.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Receptical Short


Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang08 View Post
No, just a regular brown receptical.
I meant the breaker
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Receptical Short


No, it is a regular breaker.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Receptical Short


What else is on that breaker that does the outside plug
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Receptical Short


Two GFCI recepticals around the deck with nothing plugged into them.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:14 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Receptical Short


Did you check the old receptacle location? Is there a junction box to extend the cable to the new location? Are the connections good in the junction box?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:59 PM   #9
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Receptical Short


Try turning the breaker back on and see if those "other" receptacles work when the breaker is on. the fact that they don't work may or may not be related to the original issue. Also, does the breaker trip if noting is plugged into the receptacle?
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:20 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,723
Rewards Points: 2,406
Default

Receptical Short


Could be one of the hots coming into your panel might have a intermittant
drop out,
Loose connection or faulty switch/breaker.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
mustang08 (09-05-2013)
Old 09-05-2013, 07:46 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Receptical Short


There is no jusction box for the new location, the existing wire was long enough. I checked connections in the receptical box and they are good.

Yes, I turned the breaker back on and the "other" recepticals were still dead.

I checked all connections in the panel and switches and they were good.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:52 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Receptical Short


Yes, it trips with nothing plugged in.
mustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:07 AM   #13
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Receptical Short


Did the breaker trip before the receptacle was moved?
Does the breaker in question turn anything else off?
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:14 AM   #14
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Receptical Short


Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang08
There is no jusction box for the new location, the existing wire was long enough. I checked connections in the receptical box and they are good.

.
I find this surprising. What is now where the old receptacle was?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:15 AM   #15
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,554
Rewards Points: 790
Default

Receptical Short


Shared neutral wire?

Advertisement

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace short cycling repman55 HVAC 12 01-21-2011 05:41 AM
Bryant Furnace short cycling...help! Spark Chaser HVAC 11 01-21-2011 05:01 AM
Short Wires in an Overfill HooKooDooKu Electrical 34 01-31-2010 01:18 AM
Short Circuit but Breaker does not trip vino82 Electrical 6 01-29-2010 01:54 PM
I caused a short in one room - now what? taychas Electrical 6 11-08-2006 05:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts