Receptacles Made In USA - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2013, 10:39 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


We use "construction grade" devices. I'm really not sure what the difference between commercial grade, construction grade, and spec grade really is.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:52 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
We use "construction grade" devices. I'm really not sure what the difference between commercial grade, construction grade, and spec grade really is.
The price, and that with Commercial & Spec grade, they have back screwed attachment, not side screwed. Also Commercial or Spec grade is going to be a more sturdy body and inner metal parts, than standard or construction grade.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 11:16 PM   #18
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
We use "construction grade" devices. I'm really not sure what the difference between commercial grade, construction grade, and spec grade really is.
Spec grade and commercial grade are the same thing. Built to withstand constant use such as vacuums, polishers, scrubbers etc. they will last longer without loosening up with continuous use.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 12:28 AM   #19
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


electures, my wife keeps telling me to swap out the Commercial grade 3-ways in the Kitchen & dining, because they are fatter than the single poles, and have that feel to them that you know they are on or off.

I only use the Leviton Pro GFCI when I can for GFCI outlets in my place. I have found them personally better than the P&S GFCI, because they have that green light that tells you they are working.

I have tried to find the ones that my B-i-Law has, that is Red when tripped, Green when good, Yellow when you push the Test button, but have not been able to, no matter how much I have looked for them.

Now I have noticed that Leviton has come out with one that will do a self-test every 15 minutes, and sound an alarm if there is a problem found. I can see those becoming the standard soon, then seeing people finding ways to either poke something in to destroy the piezo speaker inside the unit, or clog the holes where the speaker is, to try to quiet it down.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:15 AM   #20
Architectural Sculptor
 
RWolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Midwest
Posts: 765
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Now I have noticed that Leviton has come out with one that will do a self-test every 15 minutes, and sound an alarm if there is a problem found.
Geee, just wait till they come out with the even better model of that next year! it will speak to itself and say something like:

"Your mission Jim, if you choose to accept... is to seek out and DESTROY any defects"

Then it probes and discovers IT is defective and destroys itself after sounding a loud "defect found" alarm!
They'll cost $99.95 each, made in China for that 100% reliability factor.
RWolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:22 AM   #21
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


They already have RWolff. It is called a Wife/Girlfriend. Even worse when the mother in law comes out and says that some alarm is going off in your bathroom, as soon as she flushed the toilet.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 08:38 AM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


You could always strategically install some of these around the house and change the plug on the vacuum.

They are pretty expensive, $20-$50 on the web.
I've only seen black and brown though.

Just a thought
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:59 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


I installed 39 receptacles in my house 9-10 years ago and have yet to have one single issue with any of them.
Unless you are vacuuming multiple times a day using the same receptacle, I do not understand why you have this issue.

In fact I cannot remember having a receptacle that was loose. Tight yes, but rarely lose.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 12:09 PM   #24
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V.
I installed 39 receptacles in my house 9-10 years ago and have yet to have one single issue with any of them.
Unless you are vacuuming multiple times a day using the same receptacle, I do not understand why you have this issue.

In fact I cannot remember having a receptacle that was loose. Tight yes, but rarely lose.
Same here. I built my home 28 yrs ago using builders grade devices. Never had a problem. Or maybe my wife never vacuums?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 01:50 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Delaware
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


We have a German Shepherd (sheds like hell) and vacuum at least once a day. I think I'll try the spec grade ones for plugs that will get used often. Thanks for all the input.
tommyxv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:26 PM   #26
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Receptacles Made in USA


Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyxv
We have a German Shepherd (sheds like hell) and vacuum at least once a day. I think I'll try the spec grade ones for plugs that will get used often. Thanks for all the input.
We have a golden and all I used were the contractor packs. Ten years later still holding up.

I have only had to change out one, due to a chair got slammed against it, while a window fan was plugged into the outlet.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ground wires... echobravo Electrical 35 12-20-2012 08:54 AM
Made in the U.S. Skil power tools pjm30043 Tools 7 07-18-2012 10:05 PM
Milwaukee tool made in China KUIPORNG Tools 63 08-31-2011 02:10 PM
3way half switched receptacles Rhyno973 Electrical 2 10-05-2010 03:33 PM
Number of receptacles and size of wires KUIPORNG Electrical 5 06-28-2006 02:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts