Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2009, 04:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Receptacles Behind Gas Range Install - Question


Hi - I'm a big reader of these forums - but this is my first post!

Please see the referenced illustration for a picture of what I'm describing:

http://img188.imageshack.us/img188/3...electrical.jpg

I'm recently renovating my kitchen - the original kitchen was equipped with an electric oven, hard-wired into receptacle "A", a Gas Cooktop plugged into receptacle "B", and an undercabinet mounted Microwave/Vent plugged into receptacle "C". There are two circuits running down the illustrated conduit into box "A" - the oven's dedicated circuit, as well as the Cooktop Igniter/Microwave deicated circuit which runs down through "A", to "B", and then to up to "C".

Now, my question:

The new kitchen is equipped with a 30" All-Gas Wolf Range, and a Pro-Wall Vent Hood. With this new setup, I now longer wish to utilize receptacle "A", as the new range only requires a 120v three-pronged outlet for the igniter.

So, what do I do with "A"? The gas line and receptacle "B" are in perfect position for the new range. But, if I were to install the range, receptacle "A" would be immediately behind the range's upper-most flat-backed steel panel.

Can I cap the unused wires in "A" and place a blank plate over "A" - or is that not to code being that it is technically a junction box right behind the range? If I can cover "A" with a plate, is there any need to worry about the heat coming off of the oven affecting either the plate or wires behind it?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
IIchrisII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Receptacles Behind Gas Range Install - Question


That was a long read for an easy answer.



Cap the wires and install a blank cover on "a"
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 05:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Receptacles Behind Gas Range Install - Question


I'd simply leave the 240v range outlet
Unless you need the breaker/power for something else
Next owners may want an electric range
But with a Wolf installed I doubt it

You can cap it as 220/221 said
The blank face junction box is fine behind the range
It is still considered accessible

No need to worry about the heat
All stoves are made (unless from China or some other such place ) to be insulated to protect the walls etc behind the stove
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 05:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Receptacles Behind Gas Range Install - Question


Great - thanks for the help!
IIchrisII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 08:37 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Receptacles Behind Gas Range Install - Question


I'd keep it as well, you never know, and it's hidden anyway so not like it's an eye sore.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 10:49 AM
Toilet install question rolls831 Plumbing 9 07-09-2008 08:00 PM
F chanell install question... TonyW Building & Construction 1 08-01-2007 10:34 PM
How do you install a range hood? Krichton General DIY Discussions 5 09-29-2006 09:30 PM
Laminate Selection & Install Question sdcards Flooring 1 10-13-2005 04:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.