Receptacle Wiring, Please Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2007, 11:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


a while back i replaced my duplex receptacles in the kitchen and in doing so half of them work and half dont. its obvious they were wired in a daisy chain effect but here is my problem.

the first outlet on the end of the run does not work. the next two in line do (one is a GFI), the next two after that do not work and then the last one is a GFI which does.

I have two different wiring examples going on. in one junction box there is one cable and 6 wires (2 hot (black) and 2 neutral (white) with two ground). in the next box i have two cables each carrying 3 wires (2 hot (black) and 2 neutral (white) with one ground). i hooked the two hots on the brass terminals and then i hooked the two neutrals to the silver terminals.

i turned the power back on and my receptacle tester still shows no power at all. the tester i have is a plug in that lights up when all is connected correctly. right now there is nothing.

is there a specific way in which the hots/neutrals need to be wired? like one needs to be on the top terminal while the other is on the bottom or does it not matter?

if anyone could help me figure this out i would greatly appreciate it!!!!:
Attached Thumbnails
receptacle wiring, please help-wiring-001.jpg   receptacle wiring, please help-wiring-002.jpg  

Advertisement

reds_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 01:33 PM   #2
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


Closely check on the side of the recp.s to be sure the little metal tag that connects the screws on the neutral side and hot side have not been broken.

Advertisement

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 01:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


thanks andy. i just looked at all the receptacles and the tabs are all in tact. anything else?
reds_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
Closely check on the side of the recp.s to be sure the little metal tag that connects the screws on the neutral side and hot side have not been broken.
That's what I would have thought too...Often times they are removed to make one of the two outlets a switched outlet from a light switch.
robertmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:16 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


It is possible that your hot is not even connected to the loop. Find the hot, then go down the chain, due to in a Series connection, if one leg is out, then everything down the line is dead.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


We stuck the volt meter to the outlet that was working and it showed 120 then I moved it to the non working outlets and it showed zero on all three. So obviously there is no power going to these receptacles. Prior to me changing these out everything worked fine.

What else can I do? We already changed outlets to newer ones thinking that maybe the newer ones were bad, but that didn't change anything.

Thank you for your help.

Reds_21
reds_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:29 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


I doubt that it is the outlets. Get a Non-Contact Volt Tester to check for which Romex is Live or not. I would not put it pass that there may be a loop somewhere, or broken Romex that is causing the headache.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:29 PM   #8
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


reds,
The black (hot) wires go to the brass screws on the receptacles, the white (neutral) go to the silver screws, and the bare grounds go to the green screws on the receptacle and to the green screw on metal boxes. As long as the tabs are in place, it doesn't matter which brass or silver screw (upper or lower) that the respective wires go to. Use the screws, not the push-in holes in the back.
You should have only one GFCI receptacle on a circuit, and it should be the first in the circuit, making all regular receptacles past it "GFCI" protected, too.
Hope this helps get you going (I am NOT a pro electrician, just an old DIYer).
Good Luck!
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:33 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


Thank you for everyone's help. I will look further into this and see what I can figure out!
reds_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 03:33 PM   #10
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


Assuming you have a continuity tester on your meter, I would find the ONE wire in the circuit that is hot... That is the wire coming from the panel. Then, with all the wires diconnected from the recp.s and the circuit turned off take the OTHER wire in the same box as the hot and twist the white and black wire together and go around to all the other boxes and find the wire using the continuity tester. Keep doing this until the whole circuit is mapped out. BE PATIENT! I have a feeling as you are doing this you will have a "light bulb" moment and figure this out. I have confidence in you and I'm relatively confident that it is something simple. Keep us posted!!
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 07:51 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


What are the wire nuts attached too?
Could you have the gfci's miss wired?
Did you also replace the gfci's?
From your description in the first post you said you have 1 cable and six wires. This can not be!
I think that the non-contact tester is the best route.
You may have to disconnect everything and start over.
The power must come into the gfci's first, then continue to the other outlets.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 08:24 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

receptacle wiring, please help


But all the GFI rec work fine it's the duplex rec that do not work. What does this mean? I still need to do the contact method but that will later this week.

Thank you.

Reds

Advertisement

reds_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a 220v dryer receptacle pjpjpjpj Electrical 8 06-05-2007 05:08 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 10:28 AM
wiring an electric receptacle Jonathan_in_KY Electrical 2 01-05-2005 10:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts