Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2008, 05:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Receptacle Rating question


Hi;
I am reading the 2005 NEC, and found this interesting:

210.21 Outlet Devices. Outlet devices shall have an ampere
rating that is not less than the load to be served and
shall comply with 210.21(A) and (B).


Then, subpart (3), and table 210.21(B)(3)

(3) Receptacle Ratings. Where connected to a branch circuit
supplying two or more receptacles or outlets, receptacle
ratings shall conform to the values listed in Table
210.21(B)(3), or where larger than 50 amperes, the receptacle
rating shall not be less than the branch-circuit rating.

Table 210.21(B)(3) Receptacle Ratings for Various Size

Circuit..... Receptacle
Rating..... Rating
Amps...... Amps

15....... Not over 15
20...... 15 or 20
30...... 30
40...... 40 or 50
50...... 50

(sorry about the look of the table. It would not copy correctly from the .pdf, so I typed it in by hand, and the forum editor would not allow me to pad the columns with spaces)

So, if I read this correctly, a 20A receptacle cannot be used on a 15A branch.
This makes no sense to me, since there is really no difference between a 15A and a 20A receptacle; at least not in the ability of each to carry at least the 15A load.

Anyone care to comment on this?

__________________


Last edited by KE2KB; 12-18-2008 at 05:21 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 05:24 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Receptacle Rating question


But you may have an appliance that requires a 20 amp circuit, say cord and plug connected that pulls 16 amps. It would have a 20 amp plug that can only be plugged in a 20 amp device. If that device is on a 15 amp circuit, we got problems.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 05:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Receptacle Rating question


Take a look at a 15 and a 20 amp receptacle and you'll see a difference. The 20 amp has a "tee" slotted neutral.
hoistdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Receptacle Rating question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hoistdoctor View Post
Take a look at a 15 and a 20 amp receptacle and you'll see a difference. The 20 amp has a "tee" slotted neutral.
Oh, OK. I apologize. I have been purchasing only the 20A ones, used on 20A branch circuits, and I hadn't noticed the difference.
I'll have to check, and change if necessary; the receptacle in my closet that is on a 15A branch. I use it for my LAN router.
Hmmm. that brings up another, but unrelated thought: Am I permitted to have a receptacle for any reason in a closet that holds clothing?
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:20 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Receptacle Rating question


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
Hmmm. that brings up another, but unrelated thought: Am I permitted to have a receptacle for any reason in a closet that holds clothing?
Absolutely.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Receptacle Rating question


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Absolutely.
Thanks. It's a great place for the router.

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 19 12-20-2008 07:20 PM
15 or 20 amp socket with #10? Mdbuilder Electrical 16 12-11-2008 01:27 PM
Receptacle Wiring Question mpinchinat Electrical 11 12-23-2007 03:02 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 10:28 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 04:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.