Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 07:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Receptacle Question


I have a house that only has the neutral and positive wire in the receptacles I was told that in order to change the receptacle to newer ones with ground that the best method is to ground it to the metal case is this right?
My second question is when I test the outlets before and after I am getting about 178, 180 volts coming from them this is my biggest concern why am I getting more than what I should be from the outlets?

d4nieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:47 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Receptacle Question


What kind of tester are you using? IT sounds like you have a peak-sine wave voltage tester there ...

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Receptacle Question


im using a voltmeter set on 200 AC i think
d4nieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Receptacle Question


Bonding the receptacle to the metal box is only useful if the box is also bonded correctly.

Regarding goofy voltage...what do you mean when you say testing "before and after"?

Last edited by jlmran; 03-28-2011 at 08:07 PM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
Bonding the receptacle to the metal box is only useful if the box is also bonded correctly.

Regarding goofy voltage...what do you mean when you say testing "before and after"?
I mean before I changed the outlet to a newer grounded outlet and after. I also checked some of the outlets untouched in the house and they are all reading about 180 volts, any idea why? is this dangerous?
d4nieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Receptacle Question


If your readings are accurate I would contact an electrician or the power company...quickly.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:48 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
If your readings are accurate I would contact an electrician or the power company...quickly.
explination? i mean what could be causing this?
d4nieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Receptacle Question


A loose connection on the neutral conductor. If this connection is loose, there potentially could be damage imposed on devices attached to the various circuits.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:30 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Receptacle Question


could having some of the outlets positive and neutral reversed cause this? because in changing some of the outlets I did find that some of them were reversed for some reason. I also noticed some are daisy chained? there are 2 positives and 2 neutrals?
d4nieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 139
Default

Receptacle Question


If the readings are correct I would immediately unplug any electronic device you would like to still work in the future. Are you having any other weird things happening electrically speaking? Also just because the outlet is self grounding doesn't mean you have a valid ground.
clydesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:38 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by d4nieL View Post
could having some of the outlets positive and neutral reversed cause this? because in changing some of the outlets I did find that some of them were reversed for some reason. I also noticed some are daisy chained? there are 2 positives and 2 neutrals?
No. Reversing terminals does not affect voltage.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:39 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Receptacle Question


there is nothing plugged into the outlets the house is empty. I havnt really noticed any other problems although i did have an air purifier plugged in that i noticed either voltage spikes or drops like it would cut out for a second.
d4nieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:53 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 155
Default

Receptacle Question


change the battery in the volt meter. i have seen weak batteries give erratic results. also use the meter in another building and see what you get. as mentioned earlier a bad neutral can give numbers like you have. if these are true numbers, call power co asap.
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:59 PM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Receptacle Question


Did you try to change the battery on the DVM { digtal volt meter } ?? some case weak battery can give you a werid reading signal so try swap the battery or use diffrent voltmeter ?

and turn off any 240 volts load like water heater or stove or dryer that.

At the same time call the POCO to come out and have them check out their end first if they say good on thier side then it will be wise move to call in Electrician to come on and deal with loose netural connections.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 05:42 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by alyna
The L indicates that it is a lock type receptacle, so the face is circular with 3 openings in a concentric shape
Concentric is not a shape, it is a condition or circumstance.

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing 3 prong receptacle to 4 prong WendyS Electrical 12 01-17-2010 08:59 PM
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 19 12-20-2008 06:20 PM
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 5 12-18-2008 05:36 PM
Question with wiring up a flood light. SuperAkuma Electrical 6 09-20-2008 10:58 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.