Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2012, 11:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Receptacle box with ONLY red wire - can I connect a lamp to it?


I opened up a blank wall cover plate and in it there's a red wire going in and coming back out. This receptacle box is 3 feet right above a light switch that turns a different outlet on/off.

Can I connect a wall light fixture to this red wire, or do I always need a ground and a neutral wire as well when connecting a light fixture?

Thanks!

gsur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:18 PM   #2
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Receptacle box with ONLY red wire - can I connect a lamp to it?


First, a pic would help. This sounds like an odd setup.
Second, you need at minimum a hot and neutral. To complete a circuit.
Notice how lights come with two wires.

MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:33 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,261
Default

Receptacle box with ONLY red wire - can I connect a lamp to it?


.................
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 52
Default

Receptacle box with ONLY red wire - can I connect a lamp to it?


One red wire in and one red wire out? Then one of them must be actually a neutral. Just figure out which one (turn the power back on and check for voltage between a known neutral and each of the wires). Make sure the other one is at earth potential (no voltage drop between the wire and a known neutral). Also, tape that one white for later reference.
csab_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yet another 3 wire range hookup question - grounding receptacle plate/box? rkg Electrical 7 04-03-2012 01:02 AM
Wiring nut type for lamp wire and ballast wire. Wek Electrical 3 03-01-2011 01:59 PM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 10:44 AM
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 08:55 AM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.