Receptacle Behind Mounted LCD - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2011, 11:16 AM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Receptacle behind Mounted LCD


I want to mount my LCD on the wall with the wires running through the wall. I am familiar with running data wires through walls and wiring junction boxes and putting new fixtures in. However, I would like to check on your thoughts on installing a receptacle behind the TV. On the other side of the wall there are two switches but when I counted the number of wires in the box the box is at its capacity due to codes. However just below the room in the basement there is a light switch with only one conduit running into it. My thoughts are to tie the new plug into this switch. However, am I supposed to count how many plugs and lights are already on the circuit? Or will it be ok to add the plug. Also, I know light switches and plugs typically use different NM wires. Which wire should I use if I tied into a light switch? if you could let me know I would appreciate it.


yeowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 11:22 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
jbfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,689
Rewards Points: 126

The size of the wire feeding the switch is the size of wire used to feed the receptacle.

You must make sure that the load on the exsisting circuit can handle the tv.
The switch also needs to have a neutral wire present to work.

Buy a recessed clock receptacle to put behind the tv.


"The problem isn't that Hillary Clinton lies. We all know she lies. The problem is that her supporters don't seem to care"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 11:27 AM   #3
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,820
Rewards Points: 10,432
Blog Entries: 11

You need to post you loactaion as well. I Canada we do have maximum 12 outlets per circuit rule.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 11:41 AM   #4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Thank you for the response! I'm in Massachusetts
yeowguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 08:32 AM
low voltage reading at receptacle 2 ball cane Electrical 5 04-06-2011 12:07 AM
Receptacle under mirror quincy Electrical 5 03-24-2011 01:40 PM
Wiring a receptacle for a lift station hydrogeo99 Electrical 4 08-18-2010 01:04 AM
Post mounted electrical receptacle ¯¯NI¯l¯RO¯¯ Electrical 13 04-19-2010 02:20 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1