Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2010, 12:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Share |
Default

receptacle: 1 romex in 2 out?


Are you allowed to poke a second set of NM into a 15A receptable?
So 1 in, 2 out.


some of the clamp down type receptable have 4 holes on each side so I was wondering what they were for.

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 04:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 265
Default

receptacle: 1 romex in 2 out?


Are you talking about using the holes on the back of the receptacle to extend the circuit? Not sure if it allowed or not but it is not a good way to do it either way. The best way to do it is to use pigtails.


Last edited by teamo; 01-28-2010 at 04:07 PM.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 04:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

receptacle: 1 romex in 2 out?


Sure, use wirenuts is the first thing i can think of but I am not sure if I have can manage all that in the single gang space.
I noticed you can poke in up to four wires each on the neutral and hot sides so I want to ask if this can be done.
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 04:26 PM   #4
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Default

receptacle: 1 romex in 2 out?


Well, say, for example, you wanted to wire your switch to operate 2 lights in two seperate rooms - using both outs makes it a bit more convenient - having 2 seperate wires allows you to go in the opposite direction.

I've also come across old lights that have 4 wires instead of 2 - so they might still design them for 4 to accomodate such things.
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 04:35 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,729
Default

receptacle: 1 romex in 2 out?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
Sure, use wirenuts is the first thing i can think of but I am not sure if I have can manage all that in the single gang space.
I noticed you can poke in up to four wires each on the neutral and hot sides so I want to ask if this can be done.
Yes. Not the best practice(as someone who troubleshoots such installations) but code compliant.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Identify age of old Romex - also funny ground Leah Frances Electrical 9 02-06-2012 12:07 AM
Wiring A Ceiling Fan, Receptacle, and Outside Light merlin6984 Electrical 9 03-26-2009 09:52 PM
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 5 12-18-2008 05:36 PM
how to wire romex to 2 3 ways to a half hot receptacle smoothinstall Electrical 3 11-30-2008 10:56 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 09:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.