Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 10:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this really how you do it?


Looks like the "electrician" couldn't find the ground wire. I dont think he really knew what to do with it.

Last pic is my fix.
Attached Thumbnails
Is this really how you do it?-really.jpg   Is this really how you do it?-fix.jpg  

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 11:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Is this really how you do it?


Looks like he found the bonding strip, is/was the box itself even grounded? Probably not. I am assuming you have a ground wire tied to the box itself at least? I don't know how you would fix the bonding strip after the box has already been installed, since it needs to wrap around the outside of the cable as its coming into the electrical box....

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 08:05 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this really how you do it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Looks like he found the bonding strip, is/was the box itself even grounded? Probably not. I am assuming you have a ground wire tied to the box itself at least? I don't know how you would fix the bonding strip after the box has already been installed, since it needs to wrap around the outside of the cable as its coming into the electrical box....

I took the clamp out and was able to bend the strip around the outside jacket, then I just replaced the clamp.

I have another outlet with a problem...too short wire. I just got the metal box out...need to go in the attic and splice. In the process I will fix a dead phone line. It had a fiberglass box. Those boxes are the easiest to tear out.

Last edited by rgsgww; 02-05-2009 at 08:08 AM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 09:56 AM   #4
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is this really how you do it?


Reminds me of a friend who was using AC cable for a remodel job. We were talking about his progress over a couple of beers and he told me of his frustrations with the "ground wires" breaking everywhere. What I found out was that he was trying to use the aluminum bonding wire as a ground!

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.