Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 02:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 87
Share |
Default

Ready to admit im an idiot -Torque question


Ok, reading the specs on my new 200 Amp QO panel. Main lugs using 4-0 Al torque to 250 lb-in which to me converts to 20 lb-ft which seems like nothing. What am I doing wrong????

Mikenra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:32 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

Ready to admit im an idiot -Torque question


You are correct divide by 12 for in-lb to ft-lb.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 87
Default

Ready to admit im an idiot -Torque question


So 20 ft lbs sounds right for 4-0 Al?
Mikenra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 05:18 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

Ready to admit im an idiot -Torque question


A little no lox on the wires and a 3/8 ratchet has always gotten the job done for me anyway
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 05:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 87
Default

Ready to admit im an idiot -Torque question


I hear ya. I guess my concern is more the meter pan that I can't easily re-torque in the future
Mikenra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 05:36 PM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

Ready to admit im an idiot -Torque question


Id say youll be safe cranking them down with the 3/8 ratchet
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:17 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,524
Default

Ready to admit im an idiot -Torque question


Before I started using the proper tool I bet most of my connections were too tight based on the number of threads showing vs when using a torque wrench. Too tight is just as bad as too loose. Follow the instructions and use the proper torque.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Billy_Bob (01-29-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A torque question wavebuy1 Automotive Repairs 3 09-28-2007 03:17 PM
Ready to lay laminate... Question... KUIPORNG Flooring 6 04-13-2007 02:17 PM
Getting ready to tile bathroom floor, question J187 Flooring 4 06-06-2006 12:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.