Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2008, 08:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


hi all....

I would like to install a ceiling light in a room that currently does not have one. there is a switch which controls an outlet.

my question is how do I wire it so that the new line for the ceiling light will work..

I"m attached 2 images.. hope it's clear.

thx.
eddie

heddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:01 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 3,130
Blog Entries: 4
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


There are two ways to do this. Run the new cable to the receptacle or run the new line to the switch. Either way will work if you don't want the receptacle switched.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


It depends on how it is wired.

You can feed the new light from the existing switched recep or (possibly) from the existing switch.

How many wires are in the switch junction box? If only two, you will need to feed the new light from the existing switched recep. If more than two, you have the option of feeding it from the switch box.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


might be easier to show everyone..

I know it's to another site ... not sure if this is ok..

http://cid-cf55efca09074715.skydrive...px/Public?uc=2

current.bmp is how it is now..

I bought a new recep that's connected to both side ( black and white) .. just how do I wire the switch / ceiling outlet?

rgds
heddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


You can run the wires one of two ways. You can run the new wire to the receptacle, or you can run the wire to the switch. Depending on the location of either the switch or receptacle which ever is easiest to access. Either way it should work.
mattweber84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


hi all,

posted another file ( same link)

new_proposed.bmp.. will this work?

just the way I see it.. if the bottom is plugged, then that's live and when I flip the light on .. the light circuit is closed as well? is this possible ?


rgds
heddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


Ok....you can't run the power from the switch box.

It appears from the drawing that you only have 2 wires at the switch box.

Come from the recep. White to white, black to black coming from switch.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 11:17 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 3,130
Blog Entries: 4
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


At the switch take the whites off the switch and connect them to each other. Only the two black wires get connected to the switch. The way you have it now as soon as you turn on the switch the breaker will trip.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:28 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


hi joed,

the problem is I have no idea how to hook up the switch and the new outlet ( this is my first attempt @ doing something like this).

I gues u saw my new_proposal.bmp and yes.. I wasn't sure it'll work.

from the diagram ( new.bmp), I have the new outlet and switch not hooked up..how would I hook it up?

if maybe u can explain in detail ( swb-switch black, sww- switch white) and (otb-outlet black and otw outlet white )... exactly how it would hook up.

thx
heddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 10:15 AM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 3,130
Blog Entries: 4
Default

re wiring switch outlet to a light outlet box


From your new diagram remove the two white wires from the switch and connect them together with a wire nut. Connect the two black wires one to each screw on the switch.
At the fixture connect the three black together and the the three white together. The receptacle wiring is correct as long as you replace the original receptacle which has the tab cut on the hot (gold screw) side.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
wiring a dedicated switch to a outlet Michel Electrical 2 09-18-2008 07:25 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 04:59 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.