Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2008, 07:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Share |
Default

Re-wiring an old house?


I have rather a complicated questions. I have 900 sf smal ranch house. It is 2 bedroom, kitchen/diningroom, bathroom, hallway and living room.
I'm planning to put a second floor and like to have sistered beams rather then plate and built on top of it. One of the other reasoons like to renew the wires is also there is a junction box in the addict( allso most of the wires runs in the addic) which would be left in between ceeling and floor what is not right,I beleive.
Also all my gfi otlets rewired from basement already.
Herere is what I think;
Is it ok to re-wire the whole house from basement( about 7 switch and 10 outlet) in a way that, run the wires inside the wall and only the wires going to the light fixtures , run it from corner of the ceiling to the light exposed and as soon as second floor put on run them thruu the ceiling as supposed to be.
What are your toughts; I'm open to anything. Pls help me with your ideas.
Thanks as allways.

ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 08:08 PM   #2
Advice worth 2 cents!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 229
Default

Re-wiring an old house?


I think you need to find someone to help. Hopefully you can afford a licensed electrical contractor. Remember dude, electrical work can be done by a lot of people but, it's tricky and the results can burn your home down (or worse...you know).

Sounds to me like your into a pretty big project. Hell, in my opinion it's probably worth messing up a few more walls and re-wire the whole house!

If you give the electrician the freedom to do what's easiest and not worry about plaster, geeezz... piece of cake!

- pete

__________________
---pete
HandyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 10:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Default

Re-wiring an old house?


Ok, If I choose the option not to mess with the new wiring ,
What can I do with 1 junction box that would be burried between the floor and ceiling when we built the second floor?
ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 05:12 AM   #4
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Re-wiring an old house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcamaro View Post
Ok, If I choose the option not to mess with the new wiring ,
What can I do with 1 junction box that would be burried between the floor and ceiling when we built the second floor?
It would have to be rewired to NOT include that splice (new homerun) or the junction box can be flush mounted with the drywall and put a cover on it, and no drywall over it so it is accessable.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 07:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 323
Default

Re-wiring an old house?


I also think you need a licensed electrician, as this is a large project. Here's an article that gives good advice on understanding your electrical system. A little long, but you can pick and choose what fits your needs. Good luck!
http://www.oldhouseweb.com/stories/Detailed/10327.shtml
Allison1888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asbestos concern when wiring old house fw2007 Electrical 46 05-02-2008 09:23 PM
Books on whole house wiring analog414 Electrical 3 12-10-2007 05:17 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM
Wiring in older house ? Piney Electrical 11 03-11-2007 11:56 AM
Cost of replacing old knob ant tube wiring in house bikerboy337 Electrical 3 03-26-2005 08:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.