Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2009, 10:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


We recently lost electricity to our detached garage due to re-siding job (old wires were just overhead and unsafe). My idea is to use a cement saw, dig a trench, run wires underground and then hire an electrition to finish the connections.

Questions:
Is this a sound approach?
Shoud we include a sub breaker box in the garage?
How many circuits would you dedicate (no woodshop or special needs)?
Should I finish it myself?

Thanks for any info!

bryan511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 10:56 PM   #2
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryan511 View Post
We recently lost electricity to our detached garage due to re-siding job (old wires were just overhead and unsafe). My idea is to use a cement saw, dig a trench, run wires underground and then hire an electrition to finish the connections.

Questions:
Is this a sound approach?
Shoud we include a sub breaker box in the garage?
How many circuits would you dedicate (no woodshop or special needs)?
Should I finish it myself?

Thanks for any info!
How far away is the garage, What type of load due you have in there now, what plans for the future? Will the new circut pass under a driveway?

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 11:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


Circut won't go under driveway
We will run cordless chargers, up to four 80 W lights, small compressor, power door opener, computor, plug in power tools, potentially all at one time.
From box on house to garage is 12 feet.
bryan511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 11:28 PM   #4
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryan511 View Post
Circut won't go under driveway
We will run cordless chargers, up to four 80 W lights, small compressor, power door opener, computor, plug in power tools, potentially all at one time.
From box on house to garage is 12 feet.
I would put in a sub myself. 60 amp is a good bet, that way no problem with overloading circuts. Plus if you trip a breaker its right there. You might want a circut with an isolated neutral for the computer with motor loads. Trenchings a good idea but what is it going under? Some electricians wont do work on stuff the homeowner has already worked on so you might want to talk to one before you go pulling wire only to find out he wants to redo it. Its not a real bad job to do yourself if you have some prior knowledge and skill.
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 11:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


Really valuable info. I understand electricians not tieing into unknown systems. I feel good about doing it myself. Likely will go that route, squeezing in between everything else! Look forward to power in my garage again!

Anything else?

Thank you ctsmiths!
bryan511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 11:58 PM   #6
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


Ill get back to you tomorrow, others might want to add also.
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 12:25 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


I agree, 60A should be fine, and going with a lighter supply won't save much. Since you say the run is so short the cost of wire is likely minimal. There is plenty of information already here. Just search for sub-panel + detached garage.
joey b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 10:54 AM   #8
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryan511 View Post
Really valuable info. I understand electricians not tieing into unknown systems. I feel good about doing it myself. Likely will go that route, squeezing in between everything else! Look forward to power in my garage again!

Anything else?

Thank you ctsmiths!
If you put this in pipe you wont have to dig as far.
Direct burial cable would be 24" in your yard and 18" if under 2" of concrete. Rigid metal conduit would be 6" under concrete and 6" in your yard but its harder to work with.
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 11:07 AM   #9
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

Re-wire to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryan511 View Post
Really valuable info. I understand electricians not tieing into unknown systems. I feel good about doing it myself. Likely will go that route, squeezing in between everything else! Look forward to power in my garage again!

Anything else?

Thank you ctsmiths!
You will also need a ground rod at the garage for the sub panel, Tie that to the ground bar ( which is separate from neutral bar here) as well as a ground from the main panel if in pipe.
Repost when you are doing this if you have questions on wire sizes, or anything else. good luck

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, breaker, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 07:31 AM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
running wire to detached garage amakarevic Electrical 2 02-28-2008 02:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.