Re-wire 1948 Home - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2008, 08:37 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re-wire 1948 home

Considering total re-wire of 1948 home on outscirts of old towne Slidell.
Home is approximately 1,000 square feet of living space.
There is an attic (attic fan and two large exhausts holes w/ lattice onto porch area.......give additional opportunity to stringing wire).

When home was built, there was an ice box, one light in ceiling of each room, an out-door wringer washing machine, and the attic fan........and that was about it. Of course, now there are microwave, refrigerator, washer/dryer, freezer, television, vacuum, hair dryers, etc. etc. which often trip the Multi-breaker.

Considering the size of the house and the space in attic (although small), can you provide the approximate cost to totally rewire this home?
Also Can I As A Home Owner Do This Work Myself And Get A Lic Guy To Sign Off On It?


PvtAndrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:19 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500

Check with your Building Inspection Department to answer whether a homeowner can perform electrical work or not on their own home (depends on local codes), and for permit and inspection requirements.
Is the house over a crawlspace, basement or slab?
The total cost will depend upon the going local electrical contractor rates in your area.
If you're not very experienced at all residential electrical work, I recommend hring a pro to do it. Maybe you could save a bit by pulling wire, setting boxes, etc., if the pro will agree to working like that with you.
Good Luck!


Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:23 PM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Well Yea I Was Going To Pull The Wire And Set The Boxes, And Install The Switchs, That I Can Do lol. A Round About Is What I Am Getting Which Is Over $4000 Just For The Labor.... Is That High?
PvtAndrew is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sweating windows big daddy-o General DIY Discussions 15 01-06-2008 02:41 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1