Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 02:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

re-routing wires


We have a lowered ceiling in the kitchen and I am currently raising it. By doing so, I am having to re-route some of the wiring. I have drilled 1 1/4 in. holes through some of the rafters and fed 5 wires through the whole. My question is if this is ok. I was told by someone before that there was a limit as to how many wires could run through a conduit, but was unsure if 5 wires bunched next to each other in this fashion was exceptable.

Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:53 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,640
Default

re-routing wires


If you bundle more than (2) 14/2 romex for more than 24" it will have to be derated. Five cables will have to be derated. What are the gauges of each cable? I am more concerned about the 1 1/4" hole through the rafters. You may have weakened the rafter.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (12-03-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 04:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Default

re-routing wires


12-2 wire. Actually it was 2x12 floor joists for upstairs. How would you re-route wire? How many wires can be bundled for how many feet?
Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:13 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

re-routing wires


IMO, running wires through bored holes is not bundling, the joist are typically 1.5" thick, thus does not meet the 24" length requirement to be considered bundled, you can run as many wires as you wish in bored holes, the only time this is an issue is when fire stopping is required, then you run into the max. 9 current carrying conductor rule, and are limited to that or derating must take effect.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (12-03-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 04:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Default

re-routing wires


What would be the problem with the wires being bundled anyway? Of course we have to describe "bundled" Five 12-2's running through several 2x12's for approx. 14 ft. would be ok then?
Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:23 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Savinmoney View Post
What would be the problem with the wires being bundled anyway? Of course we have to describe "bundled" Five 12-2's running through several 2x12's for approx. 14 ft. would be ok then?
The problem with bundling, when cables and wires are actually bundled, is heat dissipation...

And I don't see an issue at all with what you propose.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 12-03-2012 at 04:26 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (12-03-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 04:25 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
If you bundle more than (2) 14/2 romex for more than 24" it will have to be derated.
And two NM's are already derated, its only an issue when we get to 9 current carrying conductors.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Default

re-routing wires


So the heat issue is really dealing with the "length" in which the wires are "enclosed"? (Cannot be enclosed for more than 24") The wires touching one another wouldn't be an isssue? Hey. I'm a truck driver, not an electrician! HA HA
Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures
If you bundle more than (2) 14/2 romex for more than 24" it will have to be derated. Five cables will have to be derated. What are the gauges of each cable? I am more concerned about the 1 1/4" hole through the rafters. You may have weakened the rafter.
I agree with electures on this. I usually run 2 cables per 3/4" hole. That's the norm where I'm from, inspectors will fail it if we don't. Also a 1 1/4" hole in your 2x10 joist is a very big hole, I would be worried about the structural strength now of those joists
Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rochsolid For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (12-03-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 04:35 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Savinmoney View Post
So the heat issue is really dealing with the "length" in which the wires are "enclosed"? (Cannot be enclosed for more than 24") The wires touching one another wouldn't be an isssue? Hey. I'm a truck driver, not an electrician! HA HA
They can touch, you're fine with what you did....
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (12-03-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 04:35 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochsolid View Post
I agree with electures on this. I usually run 2 cables per 3/4" hole. That's the norm where I'm from, inspectors will fail it if we don't.
Then the inspectors are morons... so which code section did they fail you on?


EDIT

Eh. you're canadian... that changes things.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 12-03-2012 at 04:37 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

Then the inspectors are morons... so which code section did they fail you on?

EDIT

Eh. you're canadian... that changes things.
I've never heard of anyone running that many wires thru one hole.
Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:07 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochsolid View Post
I've never heard of anyone running that many wires thru one hole.
It's a non issue.... I dont see any code violation.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:57 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Default

re-routing wires


As far as derating is concerned, I wouldn't be concerned with it. But as you add cables to a hole, you build up more friction as you pull each additional cable through. I've seen the outer shell of romex worn away and all the way through the THW insulation as well (yeah, I'm an old electrician). So I always limit myself to two.

Adding more holes in the joist (within reason) won't hurt anything.But do yourself a favor, drill every other joist as you drill your holes, and at the end, turn around and go back and drill the joists that you skipped. This will make pulling the romex through your holes much easier.

And I always unroll my roll of romex on the floor and never pull it directly from the center. This will add a twist that will act as a "rasp" that can damage existing cables in a given hole.
rootboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rootboy For This Useful Post:
Canucker (12-04-2012), Savinmoney (12-05-2012)
Old 12-04-2012, 09:23 AM   #15
Thread killer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 285
Default

re-routing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Then the inspectors are morons... so which code section did they fail you on?


EDIT

Eh. you're canadian... that changes things.
Unless its a manitoba thing, in Ontario, we can run it the way you propose. Has to be bundled for more than 2 feet here, as well. Running it through joists doesn't count as bundling. (I'm not 100% sure, but I think we have to start derating at 7 conductors though.)

__________________
You can have it good, fast or cheap. Pick two.
Canucker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Canucker For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (12-05-2012), stickboy1375 (12-04-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use wire nuts on a fan light switch with silvery looking wires? amodoko Electrical 4 10-28-2012 08:26 PM
Are Dead wires allowed or unsafe? Scooby333 Electrical 31 10-01-2012 01:26 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.