Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 11:45 AM   #1
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Share |
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


I need some assistance with a bonding jumper wire at my house. To give some background:

I live in California in a house that's about 80 feet long, and the circuit breaker box (100 amps) is in the back of the house. At the front of the house is where my water comes in (all copper plumbing). The people that lived in this house before either hired a lazy electrician or lazy plumber to install the bonding jumper wire. This person installed this long 80 foot run along the top of my roof's fascia boards, causing all kinds of leaks due to the nailing of the conduit. It's also very difficult on the eyes with the conduit running all along the house.

I want to re-route the bonding jumper underneath my house in the crawlspace, but am not sure what kind of wire to buy. I've read a bunch of references to #8 bare copper soft drawn -- is that right? If so, is there a recommended place to buy it? The big box stores sell 250'+ for $200 and the local electrical store wants $1 a foot because I don't have an account with them. I only need 100' at the most.

t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:50 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,510
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


The size of the GEC is determined by the size of your service. What size is your service?

This is not a bonding conductor, but the grounding electrode conductor.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:57 AM   #3
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


My breaker box is 100 amps. There is a grounding rod in front of the circuit box already connected to the breaker using #8 bare copper.
t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:05 PM   #4
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


And you're right, it's a GEC required by my city..

Edit: I think I found the answer from my city website

Copper: solid, stranded, bare or insulated
#8 can be used, but requires EMT/armor cable or conduit
#6 can be used and requires protection only if subject to physical damage
#4 can be used and only requires protection if subject to severe physical damage

Last edited by t60; 07-30-2012 at 12:08 PM.
t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:14 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


If there's already a grounding rod at the panel why does he need to jump on the water pipe too?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:30 PM   #6
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


It's required by my city. There are three methods of GEC, and the water jump is required. I then have to utilize one of the two remaining methods, either a grounding rod or a ground to my slab.
t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:42 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,510
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
If there's already a grounding rod at the panel why does he need to jump on the water pipe too?
The NEC requires a water line ground to be supplemented with another electrode.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (07-30-2012), t60 (07-30-2012)
Old 07-30-2012, 01:47 PM   #8
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


Now that that's answered, does anyone know if I can run two grounding wires in the same conduit pipe? The #8 solid copper for the grounding rod, and a future #6 insulated wire for the plumbing?

My circuit breaker is encased in stucco, and this would save me a ton of time. Otherwise I will have to chip away at the stucco wall a bit and run some conduit through it.
t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:34 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,740
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


Can you pull the exsisting wire and reuse it to save you money?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:51 PM   #10
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


I could, but honestly it won't be worth the work for me. The replacement wire will be ~$80 and the existing run is high up and pretty stiff. I may end up recycling the wire, but I don't plan on re-using it as it'll be tough to get it down in one piece.

Still wondering about using two wires in one conduit pipe..
t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:57 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,510
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


No issues as long as the pipe is sized for the two conductors.

If the pipe is metallic you will need a bond bushing at the ends.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
t60 (07-30-2012)
Old 07-30-2012, 03:00 PM   #12
t60
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


Awesome, there's one there on both ends for the grounding rod and in the service panel. Looks like I'm good to go. Thanks so much for the info!
t60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 03:00 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


Another question. Does the nec require conduit fill taken into account for grounds? Here we don't have to. We are also not allowed to pull bare ground into emt.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 03:05 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,510
Default

Re-routing a Bonding Jumper Wire


The NEC does allow bare grounding conductors in a conduit.

The conductors do count towards cross-sectional fill.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Low Voltage Wire Shorting Rdakota06 Electrical 3 07-22-2009 01:15 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.