Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2011, 10:46 AM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Share |
Default

re: receptacle replacement


Usually you can't... I think if you install a GFCI outlet on an AFCI circuit they'd either trip each other or the maybe the GFCI alters the signal somehow that makes the AFCI not work right.. I don't know for sure why or what happens but AFCI instructions will say that you can't install GFCI on a circuit with AFCI protection.


Not a problem at all to install a gfci on an afci circuit!

Gramps, you can either change back to a 2 prong receptacle with no problem, change to a gfci receptacle that offers personnel protection, but no protection for equipment, or find a way to get a ground wire from the panel to each 3 prong receptacle.

Good luck!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
gramps416 (07-08-2011)
Old 07-02-2011, 11:15 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Default

re: receptacle replacement


thanks you guys.
this has been very informative

I think i will change back to the two prong for now,
and maybe later on, see if it is possible to pull more slack to get the ground into the box for all the missing cables in each box. but not to make the last section of cable to taught in the wall. I remember reading somewhere in the past that it is dangerous for the cable to be taught because there needs to be an allowance for movement during different seasons.

If i can't get the cable's pulled, maybe it is a good idea to get one "ground" cable that serves all of the areas, and run it through the attic.

thanks again
-gramps
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 02:46 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Default

re: receptacle replacement


On the advice I revived here, I installed 2 slim profile GFCIs

one functions properly, tested with reset switch.

the other one does not reset, the "light" is on, which is good (see pic attached). this is the outlet that has another load on it. so there are 4 wires in the box (two hot, two neutral). other problems.....
  • it is very "tight" inside, and difficult to shove in all the wires. the left side is sticking out. I tried moving the wires around,but it was difficult and I could not do it after 2 attempts
  • outlet does not work
  • the light switch beside the tv does not work. I don't know if it is downstream or upstream
  • when the circuit breaker was turned on after the work, i used a radio to test the circuit. the radio worked for a fraction of a second and went out
Please let me know what you think is going on. this is a bit frustrating. Is there any reason for concern at the moment? could my GFCI be defective? it is a slim leviton GFCI]

Could the line and load be reversed???






Last edited by gramps416; 07-08-2011 at 03:46 PM.
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:42 PM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

re: receptacle replacement


The first thing I would check is to make sure the proper pairs of wires are matched in the line and load terminals. Both conductors from the cable need to end up on the same end of the device. They cannot cross between cables.

Pull the device out of the box and see if it resets. You may have inadvertent contact when stuffed into the box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 05:11 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Default

re: receptacle replacement


ok. just checked. line and load wires are not mis-matched. one cable goes to line, the other to load. as far as which cable goes to line, and which goes to load, when I disconnected the old receptacle, i only did one cable at a time to try to not let a mis match happen, I assumed that the previous wiring had the load on the top, and line in the bottom like the device i have. Maybe standards were different in the late 50s about how GFCI were made.

device is now no longer seated in box.

button still does not reset.



was it possible that the line and load cables are switched?
what is the next test? is there a concern about difficulty moving unit back in box?

Last edited by gramps416; 07-08-2011 at 05:17 PM.
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 05:15 PM   #21
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

re: receptacle replacement


Yes the line and load could be switched. Try switching them, see if it resets.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:14 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Default

re: receptacle replacement


that was it! line and load were reversed.

thanks

gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 08:32 AM
low voltage reading at receptacle 2 ball cane Electrical 5 04-06-2011 12:07 AM
Wiring a receptacle for a lift station hydrogeo99 Electrical 4 08-18-2010 01:04 AM
Wiring A Ceiling Fan, Receptacle, and Outside Light merlin6984 Electrical 9 03-26-2009 09:52 PM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.