Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2008, 02:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

RCD Breakers?


I feel I may be in danger of overloading a couple of my sockets. I have read about RCD breakers a but but still dont underrstand if its what I need.

Do they trip out instead of blowing up the house?

Which from this list would be best?
http://www.tooled-up.com/MicroCatego...=375&MCID=1596
torvalds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 02:42 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

RCD Breakers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by torvalds View Post
I feel I may be in danger of overloading a couple of my sockets. I have read about RCD breakers a but but still dont underrstand if its what I need.

Do they trip out instead of blowing up the house?

Which from this list would be best?
http://www.tooled-up.com/MicroCatego...=375&MCID=1596
Torvalds, most of the users in this forum are from the U.S., and therefore, don't know alot about European methods and standards. But I can tell you that an RCD is only for protection against electrocution, and is not protection from overload. Having said that, the sockets I have seen in the U.K. have been individually fused, and are protected at the main board by a circuit breaker there as well. You only have two ways of avoiding an overload:

1) Reduce the load or

2) Call an electrician to install a new circuit to handle the load

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 03:02 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

RCD Breakers?


If your in the UK the most common application for a residual current device (RCD breaker) is to protect all branch circuits requiring rcd, this is done at the consumer unit. And only one rcd breaker is used to accomplish this. In the USA our equivalent is the GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter). The difference is we use an individual gfci... one for every branch circuit that requires it. So you very well may have RCD protection in your consumer unit. You will need to look at your CU to see if one is installed. If you look at the bottom diagram the breaker on the right is your main disconnect the breaker in the middle is your RCD protecting the circuits connected to the middle terminal bar. I would check to see if you have one already.

But as already mentioned by Inphase77 these do not protect your branch circuits from overload.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-22-2008 at 03:22 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 04:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default

RCD Breakers?


Hi. Thanks for the replies. Is it a big job getting a new circuit put in?
torvalds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 08:26 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

RCD Breakers?


I really would have no idea. My understanding is in your country they like to wire from the consumer unit to a ceiling rose. So I would suspect you could tap another circuit that is a lighter load there....if they bring more than one circuit to that rose. Otherwise coming from the consumer unit in existing construction is just a matter of getting the cable to the attic or basement then running to where you want and fishing it down or up inside the wall. got no idea of your construction method over there though.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arc Fault breakers (warning) Potomac101 Electrical 68 01-05-2012 03:22 PM
Zinsco breaker boxes and breakers. evosounds Electrical 3 07-29-2007 06:08 PM
1/2" breakers Clutchcargo Electrical 3 06-22-2007 06:28 AM
HOT breakers, need advice.... Patriot_RAM Electrical 13 07-16-2006 10:39 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.