Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2008, 03:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

RCCB help please


Hi
I am new here and need help please
i am trying to putt in a shower but need help with the rccb

what we have is a 2 pole ,63 amp,30ma,220-240v,50-60 hz

there is already a 16 and two 32's in on the rccb side.
there is a spare MCB
Can i add a 40 amp for the shower to this or will this overload the rccb
and i would really like to know if you think it would work doing this or will i have to install a seperate RCD with the one thats aready there.

Hope someone knows what im on about and can help


Regards

Fifer
fifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default

RCCB help please


can you translate UK lingo into USA lingo?
NAIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 09:59 PM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

RCCB help please


I know that you are referring to what we know as a GFCI. Your main panel has the RCD located there, but I couldn't safely say what they are rated to accept. Whether it is based on a proportion of total available current, or if the device itself is rated for X amps. I'm hoping Marc is around (frenchelectrician) I believe he may have more insight.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:28 AM   #4
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Default

RCCB help please


I ws wondering why you'd even need forty amps for a shower . .unless that involves electric hot water or other such equipment ?
Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:36 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

RCCB help please


Thanks Goose for the insight for me .,,


Anyway let get to the topic right now related to the showerhead unit.,, if i recall the UK reguation required the showerhead instat heater unit it must be wired on seperated RCD circuit [ it can not tie into anything else ]

and for wire size you need at least 6mm2 X2 plus earth conductor flat cable.

how many KW that unit have i know most useally are about 3 to 6 KW range [ you may have to check with the latest UK reguation it may change a bit due i am more famiuir with both NEC and French codes.]

you will need either 32 or 48A [ if have one ] RCD breaker [ that area i will recomned to get a UK electrician to propely hook up because the customer unit hook up is somehow different than what we used to see it here on this side of " pond " ]


Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:23 AM   #6
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Default

RCCB help please


Quote:
Originally Posted by fifer View Post
Hi
I am new here and need help please
i am trying to putt in a shower but need help with the rccb

what we have is a 2 pole ,63 amp,30ma,220-240v,50-60 hz

there is already a 16 and two 32's in on the rccb side.
there is a spare MCB
Can i add a 40 amp for the shower to this or will this overload the rccb
and i would really like to know if you think it would work doing this or will i have to install a seperate RCD with the one thats aready there.

Hope someone knows what im on about and can help


Regards

Fifer
The domestic electrical regs in the UK are similar to that of Australia. Your questions (in black) & my answers (in blue):

1. Can I add a 40 amp for the shower or will this overload the rccb?
It may possibly cause the main circuit breaker to trip based on your existing circuit breaker sizes (& more importantly, loads). An electrician will be able to tell you the absolute answer to this question by carrying out a Maximum Demand calculation.

2.
Will I have to install a seperate RCD?
As per UK regulations & as Marc said, you will have to install a separate RCD for the bathroom circuit.

I would just like to add that it is not a good idea to have a 30mA RCCD as the main circuit breaker/main switch in your switchboard. RCCD trip currents are not accurate but must trip at no more than 30mA leakage current. In your case, you could have an earth fault in your bathroom that causes the RCCD/MCB to trip instead of the bathroom RCCD. This is beacuse there will not be any "discrimination" between your RCCD/MCB leakage trip current & your bathroom RCCD leakage trip current (both have a max 30mA trip current).

At the end of the day, you should get an electrician as it is illegal in the UK for anybody but a qualified person to do what you wish to do.
__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).

Last edited by elkangorito; 03-02-2008 at 06:27 AM.
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a shower be connected to this? xAlex Electrical 3 09-20-2007 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.