Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2009, 04:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

RCA Television


I have a 27" RCA television that continually blows a fuse. The fuse is located on the backside of a circuit board, and the power cord is wired to the opposite side. When the fuse is replaced with the same size fuse, the tv powers up for just a second or two, then the blows the fuse. Any one have any thoughts on how to fix?

cm3putter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 04:45 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

RCA Television


cm3,You don't have a short but there is a faulty component drawing much more current than normal which causes the fuse to blow. The fix is to replace the faulty component.

IMO if the TV is more than three years old, it not worth trying to fix the TV.
.

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 06:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

RCA Television


Search the Internet for someone who has solved this for your particular TV.

Or. . .

Substitute a power resistor for the fuse of value such that the current is small enough not to smoke the TV but large enough to trace where all this current is going.
With a schematic and a bench full of equipment it might take you hours to find the problem.
If the new part you put in also fails within a day, week, or month, it means you haven't yet found the root cause.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 09-26-2009 at 06:22 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 06:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

RCA Television


A common fuse blowing problem for old TV sets and other electronics, both all-tube and solid state, is a shorted filter capacitor.

You will need electronics know-how to find and replace it.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 06:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

RCA Television


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
A common fuse blowing problem for old TV sets and other electronics, both all-tube and solid state, is a shorted filter capacitor.

You will need electronics know-how to find and replace it.
I'd figure on the flyback oscillator 'sistor for a solid state set.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.