Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2010, 01:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question


I would like to wire a range in my garage for powdercoating only. I plan on using an old electric home range for this use. I currently have an outlet for my welders that I would like to use for this range as well, but I do not know how to go about wiring it up.

The welding outlet is a 3-prong Hot(240v)-Neutral-Ground. I know ranges are 240v, but if I am not mistaken, they are Hot(120v)-Hot(120v)-Neutral-Ground(if used). Am I correct in believing that?

My question is, can I use my dedicated 240v line to run this range, or is that not possible?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

RWessner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 02:12 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,119
Default

Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question


Retest that existing outlet--240 is always made up from two 120 legs---open up your breaker box and take a look.

oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 02:51 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 33
Default

Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question


answer is no, your welding plug has no neutral. 3 prongs are hot-hot-ground, when you test you will get 120 to ground on each and 240 between the 2 "hot" wires. Ranges need a 3wire+ground (red/blk/wht/bare/) hope it helps
dhubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 03:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Default

Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question


? How is your welder wired?

installing a 3-wire receptacle for a range isn't up to CURRENT code but it was once common - and I'm sure the local inspector isn't going to come chase you down for plugging a range into the welder outlet, IF the circuit rating, cable size, and socket are correct.
emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:43 PM   #5
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,670
Default

Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question


Quote:
installing a 3-wire receptacle for a range isn't up to CURRENT code but it was once common - and I'm sure the local inspector isn't going to come chase you down for plugging a range into the welder outlet, IF the circuit rating, cable size, and socket are correct.
Ayuh,... Exactly,... I'd do it in a heartbeat, especially for such a tempory situation...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question


Thank you all for your replies. You are all, of course, correct.

I knew it just wasnt making sense in my brain, and I am very glad I asked. Just finished wiring the range now, and it works perfectly.

Thank you all.

RWessner is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RWessner For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (12-04-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about series wiring. Chevyman30571 Electrical 7 02-26-2010 08:54 AM
Electrical Box Wiring Question OmahaGirl Electrical 9 02-18-2010 08:03 AM
wiring new GFCI breaker question dgates12 Electrical 8 01-07-2010 12:14 PM
Electric/Gas Range Question txrun Electrical 3 12-23-2009 08:25 PM
Range Wiring jasjks Electrical 2 09-01-2006 11:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.