Range Relocation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2009, 12:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range relocation


I'm replacing my cabinets in my 1972 ranch home. But to do it, I need to relocate the range about 30 inches down from it's current location. All my cabling in this house is over head, which makes locating circuits easy.

But what I need to know is if I can install a junction box in my ceiling, crawl space, so I extend the existing wiring for the range to the new location. Or do I need to run a new cable to the service panel?

Advertisement

rlblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:01 AM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Range relocation


Quote:
Originally Posted by rlblair View Post
I'm replacing my cabinets in my 1972 ranch home. But to do it, I need to relocate the range about 30 inches down from it's current location. All my cabling in this house is over head, which makes locating circuits easy.

But what I need to know is if I can install a junction box in my ceiling, crawl space, so I extend the existing wiring for the range to the new location. Or do I need to run a new cable to the service panel?
How many wires do you have 3 or 4 wires

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 08:02 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Range relocation


So the box will be accessible from above in the crawl space ?

If you have 3 wire (without metal conduit) you need a new run
If you have 3 iwre & metal conduit the conduit is your ground
If you have 4 wire yes you can extend
The junction box must be accessible
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 08:12 AM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Range relocation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
So the box will be accessible from above in the crawl space ?

If you have 3 wire (without metal conduit) you need a new run
If you have 3 iwre & metal conduit the conduit is your ground
If you have 4 wire yes you can extend
The junction box must be accessible
AS Scuba said....
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 04:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Range relocation


Quote:
what I need to know is if I can install a junction box in my ceiling, crawl space, so I extend the existing wiring for the range to the new location.
Generally, yes. I would put the jbox flush and accessible, behind a cabinet instead of in the crawl space. If you have aluminum SE cable, use polaris connectors for your splice connections.

You will not have an existing 4 wire cable (1972) but in my area we are allowed to extend/relocate existing circuits.

To do it right (100% code compliant) a new 4 wire cable should be installed back to the panel. You will also need to change the existing receptacle, the cord on the range and disconnect the factory bonding strap.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 07:17 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Range relocation


If the box is in a cabinet you must cut a hole in the back of the cabinet so the box is accessible.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Countertop Overhang with Slide-In Range SteveCalif Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 8 02-25-2010 11:54 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 10:42 AM
DCS range help mazzonetv Appliances 0 07-28-2009 08:09 PM
3 prong range? laduehelp Electrical 39 03-11-2008 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts