Range Receptacle Install For SE Cable Run - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2009, 10:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range receptacle install for SE cable run


20 year old GE range currently is hard-wired via SE Cable Style U 600 Volts. It appears the SE Cable consists of 2 black insulated and 1 braided bare Aluminum. The connected breaker is rated for 40A. The voltage from the range label reads: 120/240 at 12.1kW or 120/208 at 9.2kW.

I'm planning to purchase new GE range rated at 40A, 208/240V, max power 10.5kW. It does support 3 or 4 prong range receptacles.

Question -- Will this surface mount 3 prong receptable from Lowes (http://tinyurl.com/c5rwlh) which is rated at 50A-125 / 250V be kosher with the SE Cable setup described above?

Advertisement

buhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Range receptacle install for SE cable run


You are ok with the receptacle!

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:56 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,231
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Range receptacle install for SE cable run


Yep that works. Be sure to read your instructions on the new GE range for how it is configured from the factory...for 3 or 4 wire connections. If it is configured for 4 wires you need to change it to a 3 wire connection. Manufacturers are beginning to ship the appliances both ways so be sure what you have. The last GE dryer I hooked up came configured for 4 wires and I had to connect the bonding jumper to the frame.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-Floor Heating Cable Trouble... sootybuttercup Electrical 24 12-18-2014 09:01 PM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 02:34 PM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 09:00 AM
Electric Range Wiring manhattan42 Electrical 11 07-05-2006 06:03 PM
Replacing Stove Top with Range the.vicster Electrical 3 02-23-2006 06:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts