Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2008, 05:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Share |
Default

Range Receptacle


We had our wall mount oven range receptacle installed by an electrician today. When plugging in the range the cord doesn’t lay correctly so that it bends into the area at the lower rear of the range. I think the electrician installed the wall mounted receptacle in the wrong direction. It’s a Leviton 4 prong receptacle similar to this, http://www.pexconnection.com/product...pID=3464&catID

How do I remove the cover so I can relocate the receptacle. I can't seem to get it off and don't want to break it.


Last edited by tate16t; 11-15-2008 at 05:10 PM.
tate16t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:28 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

Range Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by tate16t View Post
We had our wall mount oven range receptacle installed by an electrician today. When plugging in the range the cord doesnít lay correctly so that it bends into the area at the lower rear of the range. I think the electrician installed the wall mounted receptacle in the wrong direction. Itís a Leviton 4 prong receptacle similar to this, http://www.pexconnection.com/product...pID=3464&catID

How do I remove the cover so I can relocate the receptacle. I can't seem to get it off and don't want to break it.

Flat head screw in the center of the cover. You will see it between the prongs

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,216
Default

Range Receptacle


call him back
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 06:15 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Range Receptacle


Make sure you shut the power off first.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 10:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Range Receptacle


Turn the breaker off. Then you may continue the work
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:48 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Range Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
call him back
I SECOND THAT MOTION!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 11:19 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

Range Receptacle


If the range wasn't there when he installed it it is not necessarily his fault.
If the range was on site he should have checked.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 12:43 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Range Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
If the range wasn't there when he installed it it is not necessarily his fault.
If the range was on site he should have checked.
Cmon speedy, every cord is the same, he put the ground facing the wrong direction.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 12:48 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

Range Receptacle


It's not the cord it's the back of the unit that matters.
I used to put every surface range receptacle vertical somewhere near the middle of the space. Now almost every one I do I have to lay horizontal and pushed 8"-10" off center so the cord loops toward the middle.
More and more I am putting them in a 2-gang box in the wall.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 12:57 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Range Receptacle


that was a surface mount rec not flush mount. its ground orientation is always as shown in the picture that was attached by someone above.

Its placement left to right depends on the design of the back of the stove.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 12:58 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Range Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It's not the cord it's the back of the unit that matters.
I used to put every surface range receptacle vertical somewhere near the middle of the space. Now almost every one I do I have to lay horizontal and pushed 8"-10" off center so the cord loops toward the middle.
More and more I am putting them in a 2-gang box in the wall.


I use these.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 02:14 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

Range Receptacle


Yup, That's them.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 prong range? laduehelp Electrical 39 03-11-2008 01:33 PM
Drop In Range Hook-Up mickey45 Electrical 1 04-08-2007 09:29 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 09:28 AM
20A or 15A receptacle ejlog Electrical 3 02-21-2005 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.