Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2007, 04:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Bernardino, Calif.
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Range outlet required?


My wife and I are in a house built during the knob-and-tube era and are preparing to add some circuits to the kitchen. We have a gas range.

The wiring to the old range plug runs through a 1-inch conduit, and it would save me a lot of time if I could run the new wiring through that conduit after removing the old wiring and moving the kitchen end of the conduit to a junction box.

If I do that, is the inspector going to tell me I need to install a new range plug? I know I'll have to put one in before we can sell the house, but we're not planning to do that within the next few years at least, if ever. We're both approaching retirement age and won't be moving unless we have to for some unforeseen reason.

Doug_Shaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 05:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Range outlet required?


If you have a gas range, you do not now, nor will you ever need an electric range recepticle. You can put one in behind the range for the timer and such from the gas range and put this on its own circuit or one of the kitchen counter top circuits.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 05:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Bernardino, Calif.
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Range outlet required?


Thank you very much.
Doug_Shaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
outlet made a pop, spark, tripped breaker-need to fix louisemr Electrical 1 06-13-2007 07:58 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
Can I Wire a range hood to an exhisting outlet? skellies Electrical 2 05-09-2006 04:06 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.