Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2009, 06:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Unhappy

Range hood wiring question, help!!


Okay, so i took out my grandparents old range hood over the stove. It wasn't plugged in and hadn't been used in my life time. I threw the whole thing out without looking at it. I went online and purchased a Broan stainless steel ductless range hood. I open the box and look for a cord to plug into my outlet but instead i find a black wire and a white wire with exposed tips... How in simple terms do i get this thing attached to my three pronged, standard USA outlet in my apartment. Any help would be appreciated =) Thank you!!!!!

nyc_apt_dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:01 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Range hood wiring question, help!!


go over to HD on W23rd and get a yellow male adapter plug that you can slide the 3 raw wires into...if the cord out of the new hood is long enough.........any hardware store in your area carries them http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/wwg...=29&submit.y=6


Last edited by biggles; 03-05-2009 at 07:08 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Range hood wiring question, help!!


Thank you .. and thank you for the link
nyc_apt_dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 08:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Range hood wiring question, help!!


Terrible advice.

Just get an appliance pigtail and a 1/2" connector and wire nuts. You don't make your own cords when the item you need is readily available.

The 3 to 6 foot pigtail has the plug already on it.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 08:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Range hood wiring question, help!!


Whoa! Talk about code violations! What Biggles is proposing is very bad advice! The wires on the range hood are not meant to leave the housing of the range hood, the sharp metal edge would likely cut into the wires. Also the wires will almost certainly not be long enough to reach the outlet, most likely resulting in an un-safe junction inside the cabinet.

Do as 220/221 suggested or hardwire the range hood and remove the outlet completely.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
range hood wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood through the wall - - -stud in the way pacifier1er Building & Construction 30 05-21-2013 09:23 AM
suggestions on contructing a range hood steve1234 Carpentry 15 08-30-2010 10:35 PM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-15-2008 11:13 PM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 04:43 PM
Can I Wire a range hood to an exhisting outlet? skellies Electrical 2 05-09-2006 04:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.