Range Hood Wiring - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2011, 02:00 PM   #16
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Range Hood Wiring


Ok, I went back through everything in the thread. Is the transformer connected to the red wire? If so, remove the connection and connect your range hood at that point. Be sure to connect the ground wire from your romex to the box.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (04-03-2011)
Old 04-03-2011, 02:01 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Range Hood Wiring


I apologize, I guess my drawings are inaccurate. Please look at the actual pictures.

In the light box: the Romex goes to my Hood. I have it tapped with the black going up to the switch box, and pigtailed to the light. There's a Red coming from the conduit on the left (which goes back to the panel) running through the conduit to the switch box.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 02:02 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Range Hood Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Is the transformer connected to the red wire?
No, the red wire is uncut and goes straight through.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 02:04 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Range Hood Wiring


I'm going to open everything back up and make sure that the info I'm giving is correct.

Please stay with me.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 02:13 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Range Hood Wiring


well, ONCE AGAIN, I'm wrong!. a7, the red wire is spliced in the light box to the transformer, so I should not have a problem with this. I'll splice my hood lead to the red in the light.

The transformer, I believe, is an unworking door bell component.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 03:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Range Hood Wiring


Well, I got it done, EXCEPT ONE THING... one of the screw connectors on the ceramic light holder broke off, and I have to replace it - no basement light for now!! But the hood now works w/o the basement light switch being on, and that's a good thing.

I did redo the panel, per a7's advice: black and red wires spliced together and a pigtail to the breaker (in addition to the other circuits, this breaker runs the Dishwasher, BTW).

Here's a pic of the finished light box; it is now covered with a cover plate until I can get a new fixture.


Advertisement

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question RWessner Electrical 5 12-04-2010 07:44 PM
Range hood installation problem Lucas718 Appliances 4 08-16-2010 02:28 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 10:42 AM
Help needed with finding the wires to install a range hood triginpgh Electrical 6 01-10-2009 03:09 PM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-16-2008 12:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts