Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 09:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

range hood wire height


I'm doing a kitchen/whole house remodel. I just got a new gas range in but have no hood yet. I'll be a while before the kitchen is done but i'd like to use the range. I have the wire for the hood in the wall, but i've never installed one before. Is there a standard height that I should look to have the wire come out of the wall? The upper cabinets will be 42" and MAY (probably wont) have soffits built on top just to keep dust from accumulating. The range is a standard 30".

autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:52 AM   #2
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 500
Default

range hood wire height


I think the height may vary depending on model of range hood. I would google a couple of models of range hood you like and see if you can find on-line installation directions.

Hmm, you may want to try to locate manuals for a couple of models you like here:

http://kitchen.manualsonline.com/man...xt8036ads.html

That manual is the one for my range hood which states bottom of hood must be between 24 inches and 32 inches above the cook top surface. I went with 32 inches to ensure I didn't hit my head while cooking.

__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:55 AM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

range hood wire height


Quote:
Originally Posted by autx790 View Post
Is there a standard height that I should look to have the wire come out of the wall?
leave the wire long and in the wall until you KNOW
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 01:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

range hood wire height


Thanks for the feedback guys. Maybe I will hold off till I get the hood picked. Right now it is plugged into one of the over cabinet receptacles but I wanted to get it on the "range" circuit. However, if i turn that on, the wire in the wall goes hot. But i guess it's fine on that circuit for now since it is a gas range and wont draw much.
autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:15 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,895
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

range hood wire height


Most hoods mount to the cabinet above the range. How is yours attached?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:01 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

range hood wire height


I don't have a hood yet. I dont have upper cabinets either...only 3 lowers for that matter. I'm going to build my cabinets but not until i've finished redoing a couple more rooms. Since that could be a while I think i might should put a hood up temporarily but just wasn't sure how high to mount it or if there was a standard. I guess from the feedback, i have a little more planning to do in picking out a range and figuring out how high it will mount.
autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

range hood wire height


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
I think the height may vary depending on model of range hood. I would google a couple of models of range hood you like and see if you can find on-line installation directions.

Hmm, you may want to try to locate manuals for a couple of models you like here:

http://kitchen.manualsonline.com/man...xt8036ads.html

That manual is the one for my range hood which states bottom of hood must be between 24 inches and 32 inches above the cook top surface. I went with 32 inches to ensure I didn't hit my head while cooking.

Must be high enough so you can add veggies to a pot of soup. One set of insgtructions said no more than 12" above the stove, but my pot is taller than that, I did not buy that one.

gail
gailquilter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

range hood wire height


House came with range hood (number 1 fan). I had my ductwork altered because I got a down draft in my Jenn Aire range (number 2 exhaust fan), it goes into the wall and connects to the old ductwork in the upper cabinet. That fan is now defunct, and cannot be fixed. I am in the process of putting up a range hood(number 3). the old one plugged into an outlet up in the cupboard. I wired the new one to also plug in, it was intended to be wired in and I don't like that.
I'm going to keep my mough shut about the alteration!! Number 1 fan plugged in so now number 3 fan can do the same. It is only 1.1 amps shouldn't be a problem.

The instructions had a height and it matched the cabinets.

Some really big hood go higher bu you need to check what your fan needs. Too high it won't exhaust as you would like, too low you will hit your head on it.

IKEA fan I got this time is made by Whirlpool, but you don't know it until you call the phone number for more information.
gailquilter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:36 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

range hood wire height


Virtually all 'off the shelf' range hoods mount to the bottom of the upper cabinet.
And usually a 12" tall cabinet is put above the range.

So wether you get a ducted or ductless model, the placement of cabinets dictate height of hood.

The wire should poke out of wall usually 7" from right side and an inch below top of hood.

jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wiring range hood Neilolo Electrical 3 03-04-2012 02:57 PM
Range hood wiring needs tweaking RedHelix Electrical 4 12-02-2010 01:31 PM
Can range hood and water heater vent share same roof vent? huynh HVAC 3 09-08-2010 03:56 PM
Island Range Hood? fromwithin Appliances 0 11-25-2009 10:45 PM
Insulating a range hood? snapshotmd HVAC 3 01-13-2009 08:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.