Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 07:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Share |
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Just pulled six 20A 12-2 home runs for the kitchen remod. Want to make sure I pulled these correctly before I consider the rough-in complete. Pulled two countertop small appliance, one dishwasher/garbage disposal, one refrigerator, one lighting.

The sixth serves a single counter-top receptacle where I plan to plug in my countertop microwave (1200W). I ran the gas stove pilot light receptacle and range hood light/fan power off this circuit. I figured this was logical since a micro/hood combo gets its own circuit.

Is this legal, or do I need to fix this before I continue? Still have plenty of wire hanging out of the boxes if I need to make changes.

__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno

Last edited by Thadius856; 08-09-2012 at 07:18 PM.
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:07 PM   #2
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Micro Hood must have dedicated circuit. Countertop one i dont think its "required"
1200 watt is a decent size, if its no trouble to give it a separate circuit, why not do it?

__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterZ For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:18 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,241
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


I would put it on a separate 20A circuit...the range hood that is. It is probably going to be overkill right now, but its going to come in real handy when you decide to install an over the range micro.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:19 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post

The sixth serves a single counter-top receptacle where I plan to plug in my countertop microwave (1200W). I ran the gas stove pilot light receptacle and range hood light/fan power off this circuit. I figured this was logical since a micro/hood combo gets its own circuit.
You cant have the hood on this circuit, put the hood on the lighting circuit, the stove is legit.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:20 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Why cant we just answer the code question?

No, the third small appliance circuit you pulled to the countertop cannot serve the hood unit....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
MisterZ (08-09-2012), Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:26 PM   #6
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


re-read the post. misunderstood. thought he had a MicroHood on dedicated, and also a Counter Microwave on another countertop circuit.
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterZ For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:32 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,241
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Why cant we just answer the code question?

No, the third small appliance circuit you pulled to the countertop cannot serve the hood unit....
Could you point to a code reference on that?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:38 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Could you point to a code reference on that?
Right back at you, tell me where it is allowed....


But since you asked, 210.52 (B)(2) No Other outlets. The two or MORE small-appliance branch circuits shall have no other outlets...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-09-2012 at 08:41 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:43 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Two small appliance circuits IS the minimum, but you can have as many as you want, but they still ALL fall under 210.52 (B)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 08:45 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I would put it on a separate 20A circuit...the range hood that is. It is probably going to be overkill right now, but its going to come in real handy when you decide to install an over the range micro.
I agree with this statement as well.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 09:05 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,241
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Right back at you, tell me where it is allowed....


But since you asked, 210.52 (B)(2) No Other outlets. The two or MORE small-appliance branch circuits shall have no other outlets...
One word missed in a different code messed my logic up. I agree with your assessment.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (08-09-2012), Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 10:31 PM   #12
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Read all this twice and not sure I understand fully. I think the concensus is:

Move gas range to one of the small appliance circuits.
Move range hood to lighting circuit.

Now have 3 small appliance circuits, the 3rd one to the single countertop receptacle for the plug in countertop microwave.

If I ever decide to change to micro hood some day down the road, pull 3rd small appliance back up the wall cavity, remove hood from lighting circuit, and drop the spare circuit back down to dedicate to microhood.

Is this correct?
__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 11:27 PM   #13
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Minimum 2 small appliance outlets in kitchen. These outlets shall not have any other outlets. (Dedicated)
Just run a dedicated circuit for the countertop microwave.
Personally i would run another dedicated outlet for the range hood. I dont believe it is considered a small appliance.
Although it may not be required, to do it now would save time and money later.

The gas range is not considered a small appliance, as it only powers the clock.
It can be either a 15 or 20 amp shared circuit.
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by MisterZ; 08-09-2012 at 11:30 PM.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterZ For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 11:35 PM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterZ View Post
Minimum 2 small appliance outlets in kitchen. These outlets shall not have any other outlets. (Dedicated)
Just run a dedicated circuit for the countertop microwave.
Personally i would run another dedicated outlet for the range hood. I dont believe it is considered a small appliance.
Although it may not be required, to do it now would save time and money later.

The gas range is not considered a small appliance, as it only powers the clock.
It can be either a 15 or 20 amp shared circuit.

I put a underline part but I just want to double check with ya about the shared circuit which part are you refering to this ??

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Old 08-10-2012, 06:03 AM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Range Hood on Microwave Circuit - Legal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
Read all this twice and not sure I understand fully. I think the concensus is:

Move gas range to one of the small appliance circuits.
Move range hood to lighting circuit.

Now have 3 small appliance circuits, the 3rd one to the single countertop receptacle for the plug in countertop microwave.

If I ever decide to change to micro hood some day down the road, pull 3rd small appliance back up the wall cavity, remove hood from lighting circuit, and drop the spare circuit back down to dedicate to microhood.

Is this correct?
For the most part, or you could new a new 20 amp line now for the hood, it's up to you.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-10-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wiring range hood Neilolo Electrical 3 03-04-2012 02:57 PM
Problems with range hood installation. darsunt Remodeling 9 01-06-2012 04:59 PM
range hood opening is bigger than range hood jacks16 HVAC 2 06-23-2011 06:19 AM
Range Hood Wiring sirsparksalot Electrical 20 04-03-2011 02:20 PM
Island Range Hood? fromwithin Appliances 0 11-25-2009 10:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.