Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 10:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range hood- 15 or 20 apm?


Our new range hood states is should be a dedicated 15 amp circuit. Is okay to put it on a 20 amp or would that violate code?

kidsncats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Range hood- 15 or 20 apm?


It's fine. I am guessing 15 amp dedicated is the minimum. Does it say minimum or maximum or does it not say? If it does not say, use the 20 amp circuit. You can always put a 15 amp breaker in the spot where the 20 amp breaker sits now. It is okay to use a 15 amp breaker on #12 wire.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:23 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range hood- 15 or 20 apm?


The manufacturers specs dont specify min or max, just dedicated 15 amp. We are having our rough inspection Friday and weren't sure if the inspector would call us out on that.
kidsncats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,957
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

Range hood- 15 or 20 apm?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kidsncats View Post
The manufacturers specs dont specify min or max, just dedicated 15 amp. We are having our rough inspection Friday and weren't sure if the inspector would call us out on that.
No inspector I've ever seen would do that. A circuit rated for more current than what you want to plug into it is hardly a code violation.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
kidsncats (03-14-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood opening is bigger than range hood jacks16 HVAC 2 06-23-2011 06:19 AM
Backdraft, Cold Air and Ice from Range Hood and Bath Fan Passion4Heels HVAC 13 08-19-2010 07:00 PM
Alternative to range hood fan Richo HVAC 2 04-11-2010 02:43 PM
Island Range Hood? fromwithin Appliances 0 11-25-2009 10:45 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 09:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.