Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2012, 08:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


First off let me give you the diy run down we are installing a flat top range into a small kitchen out business place but it uses 240 volt so it needs a 50 amp outlet and a 50 amp breaker in the box.

here is my question I am running 6/2 through an attic and then down a wall every wire that leaves the breaker box in the attic runs in a blue carlon tubing and the guy at homedepot is telling me I don't need it wanted someone else opinion on this it would seem very suspicious to me that every wire out of that break box goes where ever in carlon tubing while I am going to run a 6/2 just the wire through the space when I tried to further the argument with the homedepot representative he said the cant discuss code -_- (then why tell me I don't need carlon)

Advertisement

kgbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:32 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kgbishop View Post

here is my question I am running 6/2 through an attic and then down a wall every wire that leaves the breaker box in the attic runs in a blue carlon tubing and the guy at homedepot is telling me I don't need it wanted someone else opinion on this it would seem very suspicious to me that every wire out of that break box goes where ever in carlon tubing while I am going to run a 6/2 just the wire through the space when I tried to further the argument with the homedepot representative he said the cant discuss code -_- (then why tell me I don't need carlon)
Did you even take a breath while typing this??? WOW that is hard to read.

NO, smurf tube is not code required, especially since in the eyes of the code it affords no more physical protection than NM cable.
Also, I will almost guaranty you you need 6/3NM cable, NOT 6/2. Pretty much every household electric range I have ever seen is a 120/240V appliance, which requires a cable with two hots, an insulated white neutral and a ground.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:36 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


Installing range at your business. You need a licensed electrician, that is not DIY.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Installing range at your business. You need a licensed electrician, that is not DIY.
its more of a church slash business they have a banquet hall on the other side.
kgbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:13 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kgbishop View Post
its more of a church slash business they have a banquet hall on the other side.
Then you ABSOLUTELY DO need a qualified electrician. You already made two HUGE mistakes.
1) 6/2 instead of 6/3
2) Running NM cable in a place of assembly.

PLEASE, for the sake of many many people who will be using this facility. CALL A PRO.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (12-12-2012), jbfan (12-11-2012), rjniles (12-11-2012)
Old 12-12-2012, 11:18 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Then you ABSOLUTELY DO need a qualified electrician. You already made two HUGE mistakes.
1) 6/2 instead of 6/3
2) Running NM cable in a place of assembly.

PLEASE, for the sake of many many people who will be using this facility. CALL A PRO.
6/2 was the correct wire for 50 amp outlet it has two leads and a ground

just to be on the safe side we got a professional electrician to look it over he said everything was A ok.
kgbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:51 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,247
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kgbishop View Post
6/2 was the correct wire for 50 amp outlet it has two leads and a ground

just to be on the safe side we got a professional electrician to look it over he said everything was A ok.
Then if that is the case your range is only 240 volt..which is very odd. I think what you probably have is a cook top not a range. If you were smart you would read the factory nameplate and present that information to us. I am assuming your professional did this in order to be sure your correct in assuming 240 volt.

My problem is I have never in my career seen a 60 amp cooktop. So would you mind posting the electrical specifications from that appliances nameplate ?

Maybe take a picture of it and post here.

And again if you do this install without permit and licensing and you screw it up, at someone elses expense, when they do the accident investigation you will be liabel along with the church leadership. Not trying to be the devils advocate but you need to use some common sense.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range 50amp 6/2wire NEC Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stubie View Post
Then if that is the case your range is only 240 volt..which is very odd. I think what you probably have is a cook top not a range. If you were smart you would read the factory nameplate and present that information to us. I am assuming your professional did this in order to be sure your correct in assuming 240 volt.

My problem is I have never in my career seen a 60 amp cooktop. So would you mind posting the electrical specifications from that appliances nameplate ?

Maybe take a picture of it and post here.

And again if you do this install without permit and licensing and you screw it up, at someone elses expense, when they do the accident investigation you will be liabel along with the church leadership. Not trying to be the devils advocate but you need to use some common sense.
yea its a cook top. and i know its strange also cause the ones i have seen were able to plug into a regular outlet but i am assuming beacuse it is a flat top (glass top) ones is why it needs that much amp

Advertisement

kgbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical outlet , nec


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need to test a cable for a kitchen range justplumducky Electrical 4 10-22-2012 12:23 AM
range question- common question but eager to learn info! langless28 Electrical 5 10-12-2012 09:14 PM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
Drop in range versus self standing for narrow area sbrink Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 6 01-21-2011 11:17 AM
Alternative to range hood fan Richo HVAC 2 04-11-2010 03:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts