Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2009, 09:18 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Share |
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Been quite adventurous now that I own a house. Been reading up a lot on proper electrical codes and what not. Had to run a wire for my dishwasher so I decided to use #12 to support 20 amps and ran from the kitchen to the panel which went well as below the kitchen is an unfinished crawlspace.

Opened up the panel once I got to it, shut off the main breaker, removed an old circuit that I don't need (it feeds the washroom and closet which will be removed) and added my wire in. The breaker is a 20 amp conveniently. Once I was done I also ran the dryer plug which was just a short wire as the dryer will go where the panel is now. Both worked flawlessly first try. (which is a good thing, don't want any mistakes with 240 volts :p)

Went fairly smooth, though it took me a while to get the old wire out as it is tight in there. Fairly well organized panel though, just small and full.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:46 PM   #2
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Clap Clap Clap. Now, you just have to get your permit and you will get a gold star!

Seriously, good job. I know that first foray into the breaker box is nerve racking. But, get your permit and you will be so proud of yourself. It will entitle you to another completely self aggrandizing post about your massive awesomeness. And you will TOTALLY have earned it.

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 08:33 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Now, you just have to get your permit and you will get a gold star!
Just another reason to like you Leah!

Good job Red Squirrel. Just remember...Just because the receptacles work and the lights come on doesn't mean that it was necessarily done correctly! Always a good thing to have your work double-checked by someone qualified.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 08:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 305
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


I'm been working up the nerve to go into the box. I need to add a circuit for the media room that I'm adding but I'm leaving the circuit breaker to the last minute. Glad to hear someone found it easy enough, that gives me hope I wont kill myself.
RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 10:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


You should wear level 2 arc flash gear, or you might really take on a red skin tone.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:09 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Haha yeah I turned my face away when I flipped the main back on, "just in case". I always pull a bit on my wires to ensure they are tight and double check my work before turning anything on though so I was confident all was good.

About getting a permit, is this something you'd do after taking a full blown electrical course to have an electrical career or is this something anybody can do?

I actually have a nice setup for my panel as it used to be fuses, and they left over the main cut off switch, so I can cut power to the box completly. The idea of having the box semi electrified even by shutting the main breaker makes me a little scared but knowing there was zero power in there reassured me more. The bus bar looks fairly hard to touch by accident though. A pre breaker short is not something I would want to see up close.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:15 PM   #7
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


So, I can't vouch for our neighbors to the north, eh? But in my township any homeowner can pull a permit for electrical work (so long as the home is their primary residence and they have resided there fore nine months). In my town a permit for something like you did would run in the $45 dollar range.

Laws on this vary greatly. Call your city building office and ask them. It's the only way to find out for sure.

PS. even after running 10 new circuits and going through the permitting process I still turn my head when I turn the main back on.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:20 PM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Good to know, I might consider getting it just to say that I have it, and it's "the right thing to do" (tm).
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:24 PM   #9
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Bragging Rights. If nothing else, get it for the bragging rights.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 09:25 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


No drama new work short tester

With heavy clip leads, wire a 10A, 120v hair dryer across the turned-off CB that feeds your new work, for 1 or 2 seconds.

If the voltage across the dryer reads more than 72v out of 120v this is more than a 120v, 15A load.
More than 80v, more than a 120v, 20A load.
Wear level 2 arc flash protection for this one. If the voltage across the dryer reads more than 114v this is more than a 120v, 200A load.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 07:18 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,137
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
No drama new work short tester

With heavy clip leads, wire a 10A, 120v hair dryer across the turned-off CB that feeds your new work, for 1 or 2 seconds.

If the voltage across the dryer reads more than 72v out of 120v this is more than a 120v, 15A load.
More than 80v, more than a 120v, 20A load.
Wear level 2 arc flash protection for this one. If the voltage across the dryer reads more than 114v this is more than a 120v, 200A load.
Okay what are you talking about, i have never heard of this before. Your voltage will never change, if you have 100ma or 15A on your circuit your potentioal will still be 120V. Voltage is like water pressure, it shouldn't fluculate the more amperage you use. Yes there is situations where your voltage will drop but under normal properly wired situations your voltage is constant.

You should always look away and only have your hand over the panel when you flip the breaker(called the left hand rule). If there is a short chances are your breaker will trip right away and not blow up in your face but there is a chance of this happening though.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 07:42 PM   #12
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


I was also reading something that stab lok breakers are more dangerous and have tendency to fail. Is this true? That happens to be the maker of my panel.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:13 PM   #13
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Okay what are you talking about, i have never heard of this before. Your voltage will never change, if you have 100ma or 15A on your circuit your potentioal will still be 120V. Voltage is like water pressure, it shouldn't fluculate the more amperage you use. Yes there is situations where your voltage will drop but under normal properly wired situations your voltage is constant.
He's referring to wiring the hairdryer in series with the circuit, then measuring the voltage at the hairdryer connection. There will be a voltage drop across the dryer that is different than the circuit voltage. What this will help with, is if there is a short in the circuit, you won't blow the breaker. The measurements at the terminals will tell you the condition of the circuit.

If you read 120 V, then there is a short. If you read less than 120 V, there is not a short.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:13 PM   #14
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
I was also reading something that stab lok breakers are more dangerous and have tendency to fail. Is this true? That happens to be the maker of my panel.
Yes, they have a tendency to not trip during short circuits, which I dare say, is the best time for a breaker to trip.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:14 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Default

Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time


Just curious if you can actually get a permit after the work is done. Isn't part of the permit process getting the work inspected to assure it's done to code and is done before power is applied to the circuits?

Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Electrical Panel Box criehl Electrical 17 05-14-2009 08:05 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM
How involved is it to replace the electrical panel? Alan Electrical 10 04-12-2008 10:50 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.