R There Any Bad Effects For Over Sizing Wires? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2013, 01:42 PM   #16
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,673
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorado View Post
Your comment about logic is the only thing I disagree with. I keep reading that bigger is fine but even if there's no lug problem I bet there's either a specialty wire so thick that's being used somewhere what would cause a problem, or else there's a theoretical wire so thick that it would cause a problem. If you dig a long ditch, about 5' x 5' wide, and fill it with molten wire grade copper and wait for it to harden and try powering household stuff with it, don't you figure there would be a problem?
It would only be a 'problem' if the pit was not properly insulated to isolate it from earth.

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 01:54 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 477
Rewards Points: 250
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


So at least you agree that a conductor as large as the earth would be too large. If a chunk of pure copper the size of the earth were insulated, you don't think that would work well, do you?
Dorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 02:02 PM   #18
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,673
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


Your changing the scope....

Your previous post refer'd to a 5'x5' conductor of solid copper. Assuming it was properly insulated, it would not be a 'technical' problem. Practical? No....a Problem? No.

A conductor the size of the Earth? Well, it already is a conductor.

Now we are getting off topic and a bit ridiculous...

Back to the OP's original question....would installing a larger conductor than what is required for the current installation be a problem? No.....there are no 'technical' reasons that would create a problem. Is it practical? Depends on what kind of wire and how much bigger.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (03-15-2013)
Old 03-15-2013, 03:28 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


thanks ddawg and everyone who took the time to be helpful

Theres always a few advocates who seem to like to sway the topics off course, out of amusement.

Fine with me...
davidshultz2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:39 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dorado View Post
so at least you agree that a conductor as large as the earth would be too large. If a chunk of pure copper the size of the earth were insulated, you don't think that would work well, do you?
wwwwhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaatt???????????? Kook time
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:24 PM   #21
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


There is a point of overkill when sizing wires. If the wire you selected covers your load and any voltage drop, going bigger will not give you any benfits except a lighter wallet.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 06:14 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 477
Rewards Points: 250
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by COLDIRON View Post
wwwwhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaatt???????????? Kook time
I just wanted to see whether there's any diameter so large that he would think "that may not work." I bet there's information on the theoretical upper limit to the diameter of a wire for effective household use, and it has to do with something other than practicality or cost, and I bet a 5' x 5' thick wire would be too large. Theoretical electrical engineering doesn't need to be taught to even master electricians and the generalizations you all make are fine, practically speaking, but I bet the exact truth would contradict you on this. There is nothing logical about thinking there's no wire too large.
Dorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:21 PM   #23
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

R there any bad effects for over sizing wires?


As long as it fits under the lugs and is rated for whatever the conditions are, I personally think bigger is always better. You will have less voltage drop for your batteries.


Also, what are you considering running off of your battery(s)? I was considering some sort of turbine/battery setup myself.

Advertisement

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Dead wires allowed or unsafe? Scooby333 Electrical 31 10-01-2012 02:26 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 03:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 02:35 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts