Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-21-2009, 06:33 PM   #1
Token Canadian

Share |
Exclamation

Quick Question RE: 15a vs. 20a

Hey guys.. Just a quick one here.

My house still has a fuse panel rather than breakers. I am looking to run a 20 circuit for my welder and I have a couple of questions. Please bear with me if these questions are "out of line" as I am not a professional. I am just looking to learn certain aspects of this process.

1) I understand 20a must use 12g wire, and my 15a socket only has 14g. Is the conversion as simple as changing the output wire from the panel to 12g and putting in a 20a fuse?

2) Is it "bad" to run an extension chord with 20a? I ran into a few shops today looking for a 20a Extension chord, and I could not find one. Perhaps an electrical supply would be a better source..

3) Is it at all prudent to use a 15a electrical socket, rather than a 20a electrical socket? I am looking in a sense that it would be easier to supply a heavy duty 15a extension chord and change the plug on my welder to a 15a plug. For some reason, I thought the 20a socket is a bit more heavy duty, but I am not 100%….

Basically, what I am trying to do it get 20a service outside my house. I do not have a garage, however I do have a temporary "tent" garage that I do my maintenance/tinkering in. It is hard to replace car floors in the basement!

As I said, please be easy guys. I am not trying to "Get around the system", only to get a full understanding of what is right and why it is right.

Basically, what are my options to get 20a outside?

Thanks!
Matt

Last edited by M_Portiss; 12-21-2009 at 06:37 PM.
M_Portiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 07:35 PM   #2