Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 10:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Share |
Default

quick question, need help


i have recessed lights in my living room and its connected by a dimmer. i looked and found the 14-2 ran from the panel to the switch. there was a 3rd 14-2 wire in the that ran to the stove hood. the switch didnt need to be on to run the hood which is good. everything worked good except the wiring looked like a mess and i want to put a new switch in. what is the correct way to run these wires so that the hood is independent and not reliant on the switch at all? thanks

Last edited by jhack836; 02-16-2013 at 11:20 AM.
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:12 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,235
Default

quick question, need help


If its working as is, I would keep it the same way. You aren't very clear in your questioning.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Default

quick question, need help


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If its working as is, I would keep it the same way. You aren't very clear in your questioning.
i was just wondering how to wire it to make sure it was done correctly. i know its working fine but i want to make sure it was done properly because it looked like the previous homeowner did it themselves
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Default

quick question, need help


i think it is right, all the grounds are connected to each other, all the whites are connected to each other and the black from the feed to connected to the switch and to the black to the hood, while the red from the switch is connected to the black going up to the lights
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:48 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,204
Default

quick question, need help


The connections all sound correct to me. I would not change anything.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question with cement board and underlayment supastar1568 Flooring 7 01-05-2012 05:03 AM
Quick Wire Size Question leeave96 Electrical 5 08-22-2011 05:33 PM
Quick outlet question RodBarney Electrical 5 08-20-2011 12:06 AM
New here! Quick question. tmichelsons Building & Construction 5 06-15-2011 12:18 AM
Quick Bathroom Plug and switch Question mclemenc Electrical 5 01-30-2011 10:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.