Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2009, 05:27 PM   #16
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

quick question about a breaker


I suppose the other guys are right. I try to help with what you have, but your statement about 12-2 and 12-3 shows you are pretty much in trouble. Don't take it wrong, but just be safe and call an electrician.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 06:53 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

quick question about a breaker


ok, this whole thing got blown out of proportion.


My original question was is it ok to use just one side of a double 50 amp breaker because a single 50 for my box does not exist. I know that everything is ok because I have been using the power in my garage for quite some time now, I just kick the breaker back off when I am done. I wanna know is it ok to just leave the breaker on.
remi_357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 06:58 PM   #18
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,542
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

quick question about a breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by remi_357 View Post
ok, this whole thing got blown out of proportion.


My original question was is it ok to use just one side of a double 50 amp breaker because a single 50 for my box does not exist. I know that everything is ok because I have been using the power in my garage for quite some time now, I just kick the breaker back off when I am done. I wanna know is it ok to just leave the breaker on.
NO! You need to have everything properly wired and inspected.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 08:03 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

quick question about a breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by remi_357 View Post
I know that everything is ok because I have been using the power in my garage for quite some time now,
Just because it works is ABSOLUTELY NO indication that "everything is ok".
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 08:08 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

quick question about a breaker


Everything is NOT "OK"
The setup is wired incorrectly

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit BReaker Question - breaker didn't trip and no power thru the circuit Ronin_67 Electrical 2 08-08-2008 06:06 AM
Breaker question mrsql Electrical 11 02-21-2008 04:28 PM
Breaker Question lmanwarren Electrical 1 03-27-2006 06:25 PM
New homeowner here...circuit breaker question fenway71 Electrical 7 01-18-2006 08:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.