Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2011, 01:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 43
Share |
Default

Quick outlet question


An outlet in my kitchen shorted out when the ground was pushed into a hot terminal of a switch in the same box. While I have apart I am replacing outlet with a GFI. The current outlet has three white wires pushed into the back of it. My question is, combining these whites in the outlet is just taking the place of a wire nut right, same thing? I don't like the push in connection, the GFI doesn't have that style anyway, so I want to tie the three wires together and add a jumper that goes to the screw terminal on the outlet. Thank you.

RodBarney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:01 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,519
Default

Quick outlet question


Pigtailing a short length of wire to the 3 wires already there would be acceptable. If you want downstream GFI protection also, you will need to find which cable has the power. The non-powered would connect to the LOAD terminals if GFI protection is wanted.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 43
Default

Quick outlet question


Thanks Jim you're fast!

Last edited by RodBarney; 08-18-2011 at 02:41 PM.
RodBarney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 43
Exclamation

Quick outlet question


There are two circuits in the box, and they share a neutral wire. From what I read this seems to be OK, however if I understand correctly they need to be on a 240v (multiwire branch circuit?) double pole breaker? The breaker that controls one of the circuits is a 20 amp breaker with a single switch, lever, whatever you want to call it so I don't know if its a double pole 240v or if I am correct thinking it should be.

I'm going to change the box eventually because that thing is JAM packed with wires, guessing that's why it shorted out to begin with, but got it hooked back up because my wife is having company this weekend and the switch runs the garbage disposal and the outlet is for the kitchen appliances.

Last edited by RodBarney; 08-19-2011 at 10:12 PM.
RodBarney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:14 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quick outlet question


A multi-wire branch circuit didn’t use to be required to have a 2-pole breaker unless both ‘hots’ were attached to the same yoke. That got changed in ’08…now MWBC’s require simultaneous disconnection. You house was probably wired before the requirement.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 12:06 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 43
Default

Quick outlet question


Yeah it was built in 1971 and has had no updating.

RodBarney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New here! Quick question. tmichelsons Building & Construction 5 06-15-2011 12:18 AM
Quick Bathroom Plug and switch Question mclemenc Electrical 5 01-30-2011 10:02 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Question on GFI outlet HDoc Electrical 3 09-18-2006 09:38 PM
Adding an aditional outlet outside question BCULP2 Electrical 13 06-26-2006 11:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.